We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captain Paul created an incredible sailing adventure to Key West!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of FantaSea Sailing

FantaSea Sailing
Ranked #13 of 69 Tours in Fort Myers Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FantaSea Sailing is your premier sailing experience in Fort Myers Beach Florida offering Half Day Adventures, Sunset Celebration Sail, and The Short Sail. We sail daily from Salty Sam's Marina. You will be sailing with Captain Paul and his crew. Tropical music will greet you as you board. Cool water, ice, mixed nuts. You may bring snacks and other adult and soft beverages to enhance your experience. The sailing vessel Panacea is a 43 foot ketch rig. Two cabins and two clean restrooms, forward and aft sun decks and plenty of shade. She is licensed and insured. Proud members of N.A.C.O - The National Association of Charterboat Operators and Boat US for the past 10 years.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Captain Paul created an incredible sailing adventure to Key West!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We experienced an incredible 8 days of sailing and exploring the Keys with Capt. Paul on his beautiful sailing vessel Panacea. We sailed out of Fort Myers Beach mid afternoon, watched a beautiful sunset on the Gulf as we sailed towards Key West, a 24 hour sail from Fort Myers. We felt completely safe sailing into the night with Capt. Paul and enjoyed watching the stars until they disappeared when a couple of squalls kicked up. Capt. Paul deftly sailed 'Panacea' between the squalls and we were in awe as the dawn arrived and the sun came up. After exploring Key West, we sailed up the Atlantic side of the Keys and enjoyed a lovely anchorage at Bahia Honda. We were treated like royalty each and every day by Capt. Paul, his wife Pat and first mate Alex. Meals were absolutely delicious, our stateroom was very spacious and we even had our own 'head' complete with shower! Capt. Paul constantly shared his sailing knowledge with us which made us feel so very safe and comfortable during the trip and we were encouraged to take the helm under his guidance and sail our little hearts out! We loved it when he got out his guitar or ukulele, shared magic tricks and told stories! This was our second sailing trip with Capt. Paul - our first was 3 days - and we were not disappointed in any way! Whether you sail for an hour, a half day or multiple days with Capt. Paul, you will have an incredible sailing adventure!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptPaulFS, Owner at FantaSea Sailing, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
John & Judy... Our trip together was amazing. All of us here at FantaSea Sailing enjoyed your company once again. You two come up often in conversation. The laughs & experiences are still alive and well. The relationship we have together will continue for many years to come.

You two are prime examples of our motto: "You call as a client. You board as friends, and you leave as family.

Thank you for your kind words and rating.

Capt. Paul
s/v Panacea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salida, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the perfect end to a perfect trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Captain Paul was the greatest.. The sunset was wonderful. My daughter had to have a Conch shell to take home. Well worth it. Will do it again next year. Thanks Dee

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank dctroutman81201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptPaulFS, Owner at FantaSea Sailing, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Hey guys... Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure having you aboard and I'm glad you daughter found a Conch Shell to take home with her. She's a natural. Best of luck and I'll see you next time you're out this way. We had a ball too. Capt. Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Thank you Capt. Paul for an amazing time out on our deep blue. You and Alex were the perfect hosts. Thank you not only for making Luso's Bithday special but also for inspiring us to loosen the ropes and set sail. Panacea is sooo impresive and spacious, Capt. Paul you have a wonderful energy and Alex with his great music made our experience unforgetable. Thank you so much. Claudia & Luso

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best vacation ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Take a day trip or, take a week. What ever you want it's your call. Paul and Pat make it easy for you. Warm and friendly with no pressure. The wonderful memories of sailing aboard Panacea will stay with us for a life time. We are all ready planning our next adventure with Fantasea Sailing. See you on the dock.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul,MN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved it! We will sail with Captain Paul again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Being out in the gulf is a wonderful place to see a sunset. Just beautiful. Because we had gone for a sunset sail with with Captain Paul last year and enjoyed it so much we booked this sail. We wanted a longer sail & the chance to "live on a boat".
I talked with Captain Paul a number of times to decide were to sail, for how long, and many details about sailing with him. He gave me a number of ideas from destinations to menus. I felt very comfortable that Katie & I would enjoy our sail when I booked it. I was right!
My wife & I had so much fun sailing with Captain Paul! Panacea is a really nice sailboat, big & roomy! Sailing was smooth, room was comfortable, food was good, even his songs & ukulele were fun. Took his advice and spent 3 days sailing to Cabbage Key & Burnt store Marina. We will be back for more! Yes, we both had a cheeseburger at Cabbage Key, the inspiration for Jimmy Buffet's "Cheeseburger in Paradise." Neat little island. Dinner at the restaurant at Burnt Store marina was also good. Captain Paul's breakfast, fresh fruit & other food was very good. Lot's of water available was also a nice touch!
He even let us sail. As neither of us are sailors, it was fun.
Bring suntan lotion, a camera, binoculars(lots of dolphins, a pair of eagles, osprey, etc), hats, light jacket for maybe a cool evening(you are on the water!), swimsuits clothes if you think you must,and expect to have a blast. We were barefoot most of the time.
We are talking about trying to get back for a longer sail, maybe to the Dry Tortugas.
Oh, we were very happy with the price. No doubt we got our money's worth, both times.
If I still have to say it, I strongly recommend Fantasea Sailing, Captain Paul & his first mate Alex!
Thanks, Captain!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ptjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptPaulFS, Owner at FantaSea Sailing, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Well put and thank you for your detailed review. I know we will sail again my friend. Our trips have been fun and enlightening. Cabbage Key was a blast and I'm still waiting to show you the Dry Tortugas. It's an adventure you are going to enjoy. See you soon, I hope. - Capt. Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FantaSea Sailing also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to FantaSea Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing