We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Harbor Inn(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abaco Beach Villas(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matanzas Inn(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House at the Inn(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
635
369
116
46
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
369
116
46
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunflower cafetaco bellconvenient locationhot breakfastthe key west expressthe breakfast areafort myersking suitefree breakfastyogurtvery nice hoteleasy accessgreat place to stayshort driverooms were very cleanpool areanice pool
Filter
Updating list...
761 - 766 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Having said that....the physical plant is very poor and not up to Hampton standards. There is no A/C in the hallways, A/C in rooms is loud, Lobby A/C is marginal. Also....it is difficult to get hot water in the mornings and their are no USB ports on the nightstands.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Dad05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Dad05,

I am sorry your stay was not what you had hoped for. We noticed you have left similar surveys in the past and we have routinely refunded room nights to you. Despite our constant efforts we have been unable to improve the quality of your stay. Please contact me at 239-437-8888 x526 so we can learn what we need to do in order to create positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a newer Hampton. It is larger than most. Nice updated lobby. Good options for breakfast. Good bold roast coffee. Rooms and bathrooms are on the small side. But otherwise very nice. Pool area is pretty good for a Hampton. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Charles,

Thank you! Awesome reviews like this are what we strive for everyday here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Gateway. It's fantastic to know you enjoyed all of the updates we recently made during our renovation. Please come back and visit us again the next time your in the Greater Fort Myers Area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here because we could not afford to stay on Sanibel Island. This hotel is close enough to Sanibel that it makes it a great place to stay if you want to hang out on Sanibel for the day but you just can't afford to stay on the island. The hotel had a nice pool area and their breakfast area was one of the larger ones that I have seen in a hotel. The staff was very friendly, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. This is something that we usually encounter while staying at Hampton Inns.

The breakfast was ok, this is an area that Hampton Inn needs to improve. When we first started staying at Hampton Inns, many, many years ago, their breakfast items were much better. Now, they seem to just be food that is microwaved and just placed out. The pancakes this visit were almost inedible. The coffee is always good, and the muffins and bagels were okay. It is just your average hotel breakfast.

I do like the fact that the bathroom had plenty of storage underneath the counter. It is nice to be able to move all that crap that hotels put on the counter underneath the counter, and then I was able to put my thngs on the counter :)

The AC unit in our room was so loud, that we really were not able to sleep. I wish hotels would do something about these types of units. They are so loud for such a small space.

The lacking breakfast and the AC being so loud is why I gave this stay an Average. If you are one of the lucky travelers that can sleep with the AC sounds, then you probably will rate this hotel a little higher than I did.

All in all, we would stay here again because we know what we will be getting for our money. I feel that Hampton Inns do a pretty good job for being a clean place to stay and for being a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Peggy,

Thank you for writing a review of your experience here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to having you here again in the future. I am pleased to know you enjoyed the convenience to Sanibel Island, the size of our Breakfast Area and our Freshly Brewed Coffee. We strive to go above and beyond for all of our guests and I am sorry that we weren't completely able to do this for you. I want to apologize that your HVAC was loud in your room. I have passed your review to our Engineering Team so the may resolve this. Like you mentioned, PTAC-HVAC's are always going to be slightly louder than your home Central A/C but it should not be so loud that you are unable to get a good nights sleep.

Your comments will only help us to improve and we are eager to have you here again so that we can provide you with a fantastic experience! We will resolve the issues you mentioned right away but if you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at 239-437-8888 x526 or by email at Charles.Stallings@hilton.com

Thank you again for writing such a detailed review and we hope you have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel for a family trip. Location is convenient to all local attractions, beach, downtown, museums shopping, etc. There is a great variety of restaurants close by and getting to the Edison-Ford property is a breeze. The downtown River front is awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Joseph,

Thank you for the tremendous review of your stay! We are so happy to know you enjoyed our convenient location to all of SWFL attractions! It sounds as though you were able to enjoy the local cuisine and the fantastic Downtown Riverfront. Please visit us again the next time you are in the Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Island Area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a great facility, close to the beach and Shell Point Retirement Community. There are many places to shop and and eat nearby. If you have a car, Rt 41 is close and has anything and everything you might need.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Dee,

Thank you for the 5 star review! We love to see reviews such as yours and we are pleased to know you had such a great experience with us! Please come back and visit us again the next time you are here to visit Shell Point!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews