We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and convenient and close to the beach. Best value given convenience to beach and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great price and convenient and close to the beach. Best value given convenience to beach and price”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business but wanted to be close to beach. The Lobby of hotel is very nice. The rooms are typical Hampton. I was upgraded to the suite that had mini sofa and kitchenette which made the stay wonderful. Having two rooms was great. The rooms are average and clean for the most part. The standard rooms are about $100 per night and the beach is short drive over the bridge or you can walk to the trolley stop next door and ride the trolley to beach for .50. I recommend the trolley that will take you anywhere along fort myers beach and you don't have to deal with parking. If you drive yourself it is about five minutes or less over bridge to beach if no traffic. The pool at hotel is small. The free breakfast was ok. Not great. Good for pastries, coffee and fruit. There isn't a lot within walking distance as far as resturants but a drive in most directions gives you options. I ate at Shoals wine bar and resturant up the street and it was pretty good. Overall if I were in the area again I would stay here and would strongly consider it if I were going to the beach. Much cheaper than hotel I paid for directly on beach and just as nice. The trolley to beach made it very convenient. If you are planning on other site seeing besides ft myers beach it is great location and easy access to other places. Last. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear TravelAddict520,

Thank you for the awesome review! It's great to hear that you were able to enjoy the Beach Trolley. Not many hotel's offer such a convenient transportation option when traveling to Fort Myers Beach. You are right, often times it takes a long time to find a parking spot once you get to the beach and you have to pay more money! So for only .50 cents you get to by pass all of the traffic, your dropped off right at Times Square and don't have to worry about paying $10.00 to park. It's also great to hear you enjoyed our Hot Hampton Breakfast! Please come back and visit us the next time you are the Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    333
    92
    39
    29
See reviews for
363
453
50
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a very nice Hampton Inn, the rooms were very clean and bed comfortable. Nice heated pool and great hot breakfasts in the morning until 10am, which was a plus as we slept in a few days. The location made it nice to get to Ft. Myers beach (go early), Sanibel Island, and Dowtown Fort Myers. The staff was very accomodating as we travel with a daughter in a wheelchair. The pool has a handicap accessible chair lift for the pool which made it nice to get our disabled daughter in and out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joels646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear JoelS646,

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad your daughter was able to use our newly installed ADA Chairlift. She is the first person to use it and hopefully not the last! Guests like you are what working in the Hospitality Industry is all about! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great hotel to stay at instead for paying outrageous prices on Captiva or Sanibel Islands. Only improvement I could suggest is for hot/continental breakfast served that is included in the room rate. Dining area gets crowded fast and limited staff got overwhelmed trying to keep the hot food stocked. Coffee and tea available around the clock.

Room Tip: Do not forget to eat the Sunflower Café located on the same frontage road as the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJ747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear JenniferJ747,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel! Compliments like this are passed to the entire staff and they always appreciate hearing about our guest's experience. You are right! We are only minutes away & nearly half the price of the "Beach Hotels" and usually offer much more for what you pay! We are undergoing a large renovation this summer, including a full breakfast area renovation. We will strongly consider your recommendation that we should make our buffet area larger! Thank you again and please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here one night on our return from our vacation rental on Sanibel Island. It is very conveniently located to the Sanibel causeway and the Fort Myers beaches, (although it is a bit off by itself behind an empty strip mall). It is close to a supermarket and restaurants.

This hotel is spotlessly clean - both the common areas and the room itself were meticulously maintained. The room itself was fairly spacious and very quiet and the beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in at a hotel. The complementary breakfast was quite good and the staff kept it fully stocked despite the huge crowd that came in starting at about 9 a.m. The front desk staff and the cleaning staff were friendly and polite.

My only complaint (and it isn't a real complaint, just a wish) is that the pool is very small (looks like capacity would be about 10 to 15 kids) and somewhat shaded. I would be more disappointed if I were staying several days. Also, there is no balcony in the room (it appears that some of the first floor suites open onto the pool). Finally, it would have been nice to have a safe and a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mary A,

Thank you for the great review! We work very hard every day to make sure our hotel is "spotlessly clean" and we are very excited that you noticed! Being minutes away from Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel we are the perfect location if your looking to be near the beach but not spend beach-front money! We also appreciate you making us aware of area's in which we can improve. I have noted your concerns and we will take them into strong consideration when we begin our renovation in May. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. We could have spent our whole vacation here. The Kitchen was fully furnished. we had a suite. the living room was very nice, so was the bedroom. each had it's own tv. nice touch. If it weren't for our gps we wouldn't have found this gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Grammie43,

Wow! Such great reviews are exactly what we want to hear about! Thank you for taking the time to make the Trip Advisor community aware of your great stay with us. Sometime GPS' can be a pain, but it seems like we benefitted from it this time! Our suites are always a hit with our guests. Nearly 600sq/ft of fully furnished living space makes it easy to stay for long periods of time! We are undergoing a large renovation this summer and are going to be renovating our suites. Please come back and stay with us next year as we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

3 generations on 'spring break'..had adjoining rooms, one w/kitchen appliances, table, etc...better than a condo!!
Staff very helpful...great area for 3 beaches, Ft. Myers, Sanibel and Captiva...back at night, and into a heated pool for relaxation...and in the mornings a most satisfying breakfast ...not to mention someexcellent all daylong coffee choices!!

Room Tip: For families pair up a bedroom w/an applianced suite...doors open to both rooms if you chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolcd342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Carolcd342,

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy we were able to deliver the experience your family wanted when they chose to stay with us. Our suites are so big compared to most hotels and when you reserve the connecting room it becomes nearly 800 sq/ft of living space! We can't wait to have you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 6 weeks at this location, we did not want to leave. The suite was lovely, everything we needed, loved the bed. The front desk staff were great, the complimentary breakfast was wonderful and the staff so friendly, the housekeeping staff were also friendly and caring. Thanks to Charles, Lois and Lisa. The beach shuttle is a 2 minute walk. buses also go to the airport and shopping, a choice of restaurants is within walking distance. We are booked for 2 months next year.

Room Tip: We were on the east side, 3rd floor, it was great,facing green belt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelimeysBolton_ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear thelimeysBolton_ont,

Thank you for the amazing review! We love having you here each year and are so glad you've chosen to come back and stay with us next year! We are very excited to have your here after we complete our renovation plans. I will pass your great comments to the entire staff and management! We are counting the days until you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
384 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
550 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
605 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Address: 11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-5367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally lcoated to the area's finest beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel-Captiva Islands. Start your day with our complimentary Hot Hampton Breakfast Buffet before heading out to some of Florida's best golf courses, shopping, and deep sea fishing. Boston Redsox and Minnesota Twins Spring Training venues are a short drive away. Or you may choose to take swim or catch some sun out at our heated tropical style pool. Our deluxe Cloud-Nine bedding will ensure great nights rest so you are ready to explore or kayak our unspoiled coastlines and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road
Hampton Inn Fort Myers
Fort Myers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing