We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a hard place to find! it's not actually on a street, but on a side of an old shopping center; not well lit or signage. Had to call twice, even using our GPS!

Was put into a room different than we'd reserved. NO WATER due to water pipe break in hotel...had to wait several hours, so no shower, couldn't even wash hands.
Later, returned after supper elsewhere and found our carpet soaking wet! (from the pipe burst???) Bed was comfy and room was spacious and ok. A/C was rather loud but at least it worked!
Nice, small pool with pretty white birds of paradise and palm trees.
Excellent free breakfast and "to-go" sacks of snacks.
Lobby had nice big screen TV but 2 leather sofas had the leather torn off/shredded, very ugly, wouldn't sit on it!
Staff was nice and comped our room under the Hampton Inn 100% satisfaction guarantee. I'll stay at a Hampton Inn again, but not this one.

Room Tip: ask for a non-smoking room at back (away from freeway noise); "suites" by pool are larger...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wacotx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

I am very sorry your stay was not up to Hilton Standard's. The pipes bursting did affect a small portion of the hotel and I apologize you had to deal with this during your vacation. You may be pleased to know that the lobby has been renovated since you posted the pictures. We have new furniture, carpet, and television's. We also greatly appreciate your comment's about how helpful and kind the staff was during your stay. My hope is that in due time you will give us another chance to go above and beyond your expectation's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

This Hampton Inn is clean and in good shape. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is adequate. Ask for an even numbered room for a view of the pool. Odd numbers overlook the parking lot. There are good places to eat nearby.
The only negative thing I noticed during my stay is that the bottom of the bathtub in somewhat rounded which makes it easy to lose your balance in the shower. I almost fell 3 times showering.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank circa1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Circa1952,

Thank you for such a great review! You taking the time to review your stay helps us to improve our guest experience, as well as, allowing the entire TripAvisor community about how wonderful our hotel is. Please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights.
We arrived in the afternoon, when several other guests checked in, so it was a little slow, but no big deal. Unfortunately, the keys we got did not work, so we had to return to the reception. The hotel has 4 floors, and elevators were intensely used, not only by guest but also by housekeeping staff, so it took a while to get upstairs again.
Our room was spacious and reasonably clean, but the hotel in general is a little outdated, and we had a CRT TV and an old and noisy a/c.
When we returned from the beach at around 5 pm on the second day, our room had not been made up yet. As we wanted a quick bath before going out for dinner, this was a bit annoying. The friendly maid seemed overworked, but made up our room up after we left.
A well managed hotel often shows in the details. For instance, it is nice to have cookies in the afternoon, but the platter should not be left empty most of the afternoon (remove it, please). Likewise, it is good to have a coffeemaker in the room, but not very good, if your only choice is decaf. We got a choice between regular coffee and decaf on the first day, but on the second day only decaf was available. We did ask for regular coffee at the front desk, but never had any.
So this Hampton was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NemoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear NemoTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. I apologize for any mishaps you experienced while here. You are 100% correct that great management shows itself in the small details throughout the hotel. We have since changed management companies and I am certain that we have an entirely different approach to improving our guest exerience. I hope that you were able to enjoy our great locale and experience the beach, the local cuisine and all of the other great thing's that are happening in Fort Myers Beach. We have since upgraded the entire property with NEW 42'' Samung LCD TV's and have a large renovation planned for early June 2013. I hope that you will come back and experience all of the wonderful changes we have made since your last stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

7 couples stayed prior to our Key West Express venture. Clean!!! Wonderful staff!! Great breakfast. Requested pool stay open past planned closing time, and were accommodated graciously.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us in Fort Myers. We work hard to keep our hotel clean and take care of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to stay with us when you return to Fort Myers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I suppose this hotel is "just a Hampton", but the more I stay at other chain motels, the more I come to appreciate Hampton Inns. I picked this one because it was the closest accommodation I could find to the Key West Express ferry that runs from Fort Myers Beach to Key West, and ended up staying there two nights before my Key West adventure and two nights afterwards.

Like other Hamptons, this one had high standards for cleanliness, good breakfast, comfortable rooms and other things I definitely want from a hotel. One staff member in particular was both friendly and helpful, and in the course of straightening out a bit of confusion with my reservation, she ended up upgrading me to a "suite" that included a sitting area, stove and fridge, plus a sliding door direct into the courtyard surrounding the pool. I spent hours on both evenings sitting outside my room with a glass of something pleasant, feeling the Florida evening and gazing at the bright moon above the palm and banana trees. I would happily have paid extra to have the same room on my return visit, but alas, it wasn't available; however of course I still had access, like all guests, to the courtyard area via the main lobby.

The neighbourhood is a bit strange, featuring a shopping mall that is entirely empty except for an active Winn Dixie supermarket. The trolley that shuttles to the beach area (50 cents fare) stops there and is definitely a better choice for getting to beach and park areas than driving and hunting for parking. Also on Summerlin Square Road are a Perkins restaurant and a place called the Sunflower Cafe that has much better cuisine than anybody would expect next to a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night to go to a Minnesota Twins spring training game. We had reserved the room ~2 months in advance on the Hampton Inn website as a nonsmoking/king room. Upon checking in, we were given a smoking double queen room. The TV was an old CRT, the remote did not work and the power button on the TV itself was broken.
They were unable to change anything that night because the hotel was completely full. I probably would have slept better in the car. There is nothing quite like waking up in the morning feeling nice and refreshed after smoking a pack of cigarettes all night. We were fully refunded our money due to the mix-up.
The breakfast at the hotel was very good (as far as continental breakfast hotel food goes) and the pool area was nicely maintained with plenty of towels and seating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNtravels621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear JustSimplyB,

We apologize for the reservation mix-up. No guest should have to sleep in a Smoking-Room if they do not wish too. We are now operating under new ownership and management. I think you will be greatly surprised by the changes we have made to the hotel since your last stay. The Twins should have a much better team in 2013, so I hope you will come back and support both them and us next Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our twelfth year staying at this hotel. Our stay was for over two months from Jan 1 through early March. We contine to be pleased. Staff is always pleasant and accommodating . The pool area and atrium continue to be its srong suits. The two room suites and comfortable ad spacious. Parking is close to the hotel itself also city bus service is nearby and convenient to the beach or downtown. The beach is approximately a mile and a haf away. The new management is striving to make changes for the comfor tof the guests and we intend to go back next year to see what has transpired.

Room Tip: with sprng baseball in Ft Myers, early reservations ensure your selection
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

It is always a pleasure having you stay with us at the Hampton Inn. We look forward to you returning next year. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,654 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
553 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
613 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Address: 11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-5367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $97 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally lcoated to the area's finest beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel-Captiva Islands. Start your day with our complimentary Hot Hampton Breakfast Buffet before heading out to some of Florida's best golf courses, shopping, and deep sea fishing. Boston Redsox and Minnesota Twins Spring Training venues are a short drive away. Or you may choose to take swim or catch some sun out at our heated tropical style pool. Our deluxe Cloud-Nine bedding will ensure great nights rest so you are ready to explore or kayak our unspoiled coastlines and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road
Hampton Inn Fort Myers
Fort Myers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing