We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS - STAY AWAY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I have never experienced a problem with bed bugs until I stayed at this resort. I have at least 15 itchy bites on my body. I'm terribly afraid that these things could infest my house.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RLISA661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhilles, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

All reports of pests and bugs are taken very seriously here at the property. We have not had any reports of bed bugs for over the last 90 days and do have pest control to the property regularly. All rooms are fully inspected for pests including bed bugs before the rooms is cleaned and put back into inventory. Would like to speak to this guest further regarding this review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

I checked in at 10 PM, very tired and wanted to have a shower. The shower had an arm on it about 2 inches long and a nozzle you could turn to choose different options "if" you could get hold of it. I got barely sprinkled and had a difficult time to even get the soap rinsed off. The drain was slow so the water filled up in the tub. There are so many wonderful shower heads available now. They really need to invest in some. I found the bed uncomfortable, it needed a pillowtop. The internet connection was super slow. We were on the 4th floor on the end by the pool. The pool looked very pretty and the lobby is very attractive. Friendly staff. Good location. I would not stay here again because of the shower and comfort of bed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nononsense42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Three of us stated three nights in March 2011.To begin with, we had a hard time finding this hotel at night from the airport. I think we had an old GPS but I did read other reviews in which people had the same experience. The staff were very accommodating. The hotel was clean, bed was comfortable although the room seemed slightly small compared to your standard room. One plus is that we were able to open the windows in the room. The pool was heated and was not crowded when we were there. Breakfast was basic, coffee strong and hot! We used the trolley which is in walking distance to the hotel to get to Fort Myers beach when the traffic was heavy.

Room Tip: Named my own price through priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The Hampton Inn & Suites are great for staying away from family while visiting them in Fort Myers. Rooms were spacious with good kitchenette. Only things I did not like: small sink area in bathroom, towels were new and left lint all over you when you dried off, old TVs (how did we survive before HD?), weak hair dryers, and loud AC units. Overall, hotel was clean and staff was friendly. I was a little unsure about staying at this hotel since it has smoking rooms and I'm anti-smoking, but I never smelled smoke during our 4-day stay. Free wi-fi was great!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I reserved a suite over two weeks prior to my travel date and checked in at approximately 9 pm. When I went to my room, it was in fact, not a suite. The staff was pleasant, and informed me they were booked so no other rooms were available. They addressed the situation promptly and gave me the corresponding AAA room rate (fortunately I had the printout of my confirmation to show that I was paying for a suite). But I couldn't help but be disappointed. Why bother offering the suite as a reservation option if it isn't going to be available? As far as the hotel, it's clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fine. The wireless was free but the wifi network was not available in our room (which for me was another bummer). The bottom line? I wanted a place near the Key West Express that's reasonably affordable and it was perfectly fine for that. But if I were in the area again I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 319expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed for four nights. The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The free breakfast was hot and delicious. The staff was courteous, helpful, and and kind. I left my charger and they searched for it and called be back to return it to me We would stay there again and recommend to friends. The suites are nice if you want to save money and eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brashear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Hampton Inn at Ft Myers Beach was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and we were allowed to check in early. The staff were all friendly and the pool area very nice. Price was very reasonable and room very roomy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamsgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,662 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
397 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
553 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
614 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Address: 11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-5367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $109 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally lcoated to the area's finest beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel-Captiva Islands. Start your day with our complimentary Hot Hampton Breakfast Buffet before heading out to some of Florida's best golf courses, shopping, and deep sea fishing. Boston Redsox and Minnesota Twins Spring Training venues are a short drive away. Or you may choose to take swim or catch some sun out at our heated tropical style pool. Our deluxe Cloud-Nine bedding will ensure great nights rest so you are ready to explore or kayak our unspoiled coastlines and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road
Hampton Inn Fort Myers
Fort Myers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing