We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to learn the history of the island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mound House

Mound House
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place to learn the history of the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The mound and the house are actually two different things. The mound refers to a Calusa Indian shell mound and the house is the oldest standing building in Fort Myers Beach, which happens to sit atop the shell mound. Check the website for times of tours. We went on a Saturday around noon so we were able to get a tour. The tours are free. The tour guide was very informative but sometimes a little scattered and long winded. They tell you about the history of the island and the Calusa Indians who formed the mound. There are many different types of Florida plants to view. The only thing you really need a guide for (other then the information) is to view the under ground room to see a cross section of the actual shell mound and view a video about it. The house is soon to be open to the public but is closed for renovations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    43
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

As usual, there are like 7 parking spots. After you see there's no more parking spots you have to turn around and go back three blocks to a church parking lot. We went on a Thursday and found out the tours are only on Tuesday & Wednesday from 10-2.
It's one of the original buildings on the island but I would visit when they had tours to find out more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank seniorita60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERTOWN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Check for times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

All of the literature said tours each day from 10-2. Wrong--only certain days of the week and we did not return. Literature was wet--and not replaced. All you can do is walk around the grounds as nothing is completed or restored. A person did come out of the office--mainly because I was looking for someone--and told us it is not open for visitors but we could just walk around. When finished--it will be an interesting stop--if they can get volunteers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam57201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dameron, Maryland
Level Contributor
420 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“After several years of attempting to visit, we finally got to see it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My brother and his family and myself have been trying for years to actually go on a tour of the Mound House. We come down at Christmas time to visit our parents in Fort Myers and this is one of the attractions that's always on our list to visit. Unfortunately my brother and his family could'nt make it this year, but I actually got to see it (rubbed that in a little when I got back to MD - ha, ha!). It was always closed to the public for one reason or another. That's the only reason I did'nt give the tour an excellent rating. Our guide (Russ) was very informative and knew his stuff! Very pleasant man. We toured the grounds and he explained all the flora and history there. The actual house on the property is currently under reconstruction, so we did not have the opportunity to see the inside, but he did explain the background of the house. The mound itself was actually discovered when they were removing the in-ground swimming pool. It was explained in detail along with a short film. Nice attraction - donations accepted at end of tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mako13Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was a fantastic place to learn a history lesson about the Caulusa Indians. I loves learning about the trees on the land and loved seeing and learning about the shells and the history in the tunnel. The tour guide was very educated about the property.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Remycub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mound House also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mound House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing