We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool”

Matanzas Pass Preserve
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Really cool”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It is how the whole island of Fort Myers Beach was before all the development, and this is what is left. It is a very nice 20 minute trail and definetly worth checking out. Also next to it is the Fort Myers Beach Historic Cottage and Museum. It is only open 2 hours 2 days a week. We got there a few minutes after they closed so that was disappointing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    45
    32
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The bugs will eat you alive!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stumbled upon the park while driving along the beach road. I took a walk back to the bay overlook and felt biting, I looked down and there were at least twenty black flea like critters on my arms and legs. Now four days later I am covered in itchy bites all over. Use tons of bug spray out there...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyJFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Buggy Trail”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is an interesting trail on the island. Takes you past one of the early dwellings on the island. Interesting, but it is alongside mangroves so expect lots of bugs & mosquitoes at certain times of the year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingAnnie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick on Shannon, Leitrim, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“hidden surprise”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

lovely walking area and place for fishing, painting or contemplation. Great place to view plant & wildlife, without feeling like you've fallen off the face of the earth. Nice, raised walkways are easy to access and non-slip, even after rain. Enjoyable. I'll return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MicheleMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hidden gem (I know it's been said before)”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Rule #1, BUG SPRAY. Without it, you're good as dead, they'll eat you alive.
Rule #2, Take a picture of the map at the entry way or you'll be out there a lot longer than you planned for.
Rule #3, Relax and enjoy nature, it's beautiful and there's a lot to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eatsandsleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas Pass Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas Pass Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing