We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Surf and Us South Shore Resort
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Right on the beach, cozy efficiency, no frills. Lots to do and see in South Florida. The hosts, Heidi and Bruiser are friendly and helpful. The price is better than anything else comparable that we looked at. The ONLY drawback is the traffic on Estero Blvd.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for The Surf and Us South Shore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went to surf and us for a wedding and stayed with other family members in one of the suites. The view is incredible and the hosts are attentive and friendly. There was no request or question too small or unimportant. Right near anything you'd want to do and incredibly relaxing and enjoyable even if you want to do nothing.
Perfect place for a family vacation or a couples getaway. Heidi and Bruiser will treat you like family (only better).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 night at surf r us for a wedding, all I can say is wow! Beautiful place for any occasion, private yet still on the beach. Spacious, clean, cute getaway. Close to shops and great restaurants. Heidi and Bruiser (management) made us fill very welcome like we've known them forever, can't wait to go back next year and stay in a hotel we know is perfect for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BChastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is where we started our trip on the Gulf coast and it was an amazing place. We met some family here for three days and it was just a perfect location right on the beach and close to some good restaurants. The room was very clean and loved it. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmc8756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I just returned from a 3 days stay at Surf and Us Resort and all that I can say is WOW! What a cute little resort, right on the beach. Heidi and Bruiser went out of their way on NUMEROUS occasions to make our stay VERY enjoyable. Great restaurants in the area too, and the sunsets? Gorgeous.

Room Tip: Room #2 is upstairs and has a GREAT view of the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalBusinessman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We decided to go to Florida..even though I thought it was all swamps and alligators... After a friend convinced us to go..we flew our daughter down for her 21st also...all I can say is BOOKED for next year!!!! NO swamps,alligators, cockroaches,bugs nor any other "icky" creepier Crowley things..Just GREAT CLEAN accommodations..a sea shells throw from the Gulf!!! We had awesome surf fishing also..the managers helped us get our license and a boat. Also set us up with scooters to hang out on the island and a few parks to hit! Awesome Managers/Tour Guides.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyM409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for a week and it was very nice. Room had everything we needed and was clean, the full kitchen was great. We enjoyed freshly caught shrimp from a local shop on the grill, we even cought a trout right in front of the resort that we also threw on the grill. The resort is in walking distance of just about everything and the bus stop is 50 yards away. One big bonus is the sand bar that gets exposed at low tide right in front of the resort, you can see all sorts of shells and sand dollars. Dolphins fed right in front of the resort almost daily, one day they were within 5 feet of us chasing fish, it was very cool to see. The sunsets are picture perfect and worth the price alone.

We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: The view from the upper units in a bit better than the lower rooms, but you won't be in the room...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12J_Racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,823 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf and Us South Shore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf and Us South Shore Resort

Address: 3870 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3820
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf and Us is a 5-unit beach front resort located directly on Gulf of Mexico in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Resort offers guests clean and comfortable accommodations, semi-private beach area, private parking lot, covered pavilion, white sandy beaches, and the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surf And Us South Shore Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing