We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Tour”

Everglades Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Everglades Adventure Day with Swamp Buggy and Airboat Rides
Ranked #21 of 72 Tours in Fort Myers Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full day tour the Everglades with our naturalist guides. Tours include transportation to and from the Everglades, thrilling airboat ride, alligator exhibits, and much more!! Depart by van from Ft Myers Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Rutland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superior Tour”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Dwight was an informative, enthusiastic and friendly guide. We came away with a greater knowledge of the plants and animals of the Everglades.This tour allowed us to do and see things that would be a hassle to try to coordinate on our own. This is the way to go. It's well worth the price. The lunch in Everglades City was excellent also.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 28Cat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    19
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
“The airboat ride is a must.”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Our driver, Margo, was informative and had a vey pleasant and professional personality. The "zoo" an adventure in characters. Lunch average. The swamp buggy ride not particularly interesting. Our driver made her politics a bit too obvious and espoused a philosophy that I found inappropriate for the tour.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandrachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A first class guide, making an excellent day.”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our guide was a lady called Marlow. She combined knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, Everglades with a relaxed and very friendly sense of humour. It's all too easy to be lectured at by a guide with a set script, but she was exceptional. As for the trip itself, it delivered everything it promised and was a great day out. The only downsides were that, perhaps because of the time of year, the tractor ride didn't offer any particularly interesting sights or sounds, and the airboat trip wasn't for as long as advertised - but it was a truly memorable day. Would certainly recommend the company and Marlow as your guide.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank plambert99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The best part of our Florida vacation!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

After reading the previous reviews, we booked our tour with Everglades Adventures. Our family was picked up by the wonderful Gator D, otherwise known as Dwight Locke. He was everything that the reviews promised-- and more.

During the ride to our destination, Gator D regaled us with the history of the Everglades. Even though we were all snoozing in the back of the van, he was unstoppable! First off was the swamp buggy ride through the woods. We were driven by a quirky lady who told us about the plant and animal life and put her own personal political spin on the narration. An unexpected bonus was the sighting of many manatees in a canal next to the swamp buggy.

Next Gator D took us to what he jokingly called a “petting zoo.” At first blush, you’d think it was a tourist trap where you’d never expect to find yourself. Actually it was one man’s collection of snakes (including a python and an anaconda), turtles, alligators, birds and even a scorpion. No doubt, he was one man who loved all his animals and wanted to share them with us. We were given plenty of time and each person was encouraged to hold all the animals and birds. All the while, Gator D was snapping pictures of us on his cell phone.

Afterwards, Gator D drove us along a canal to spot alligators. Then we went to the included lunch at the Seafood Depot in Everglades City where we were given a sample of alligator fritters. Not to worry, but the alligator we were eating was “farm raised” said Gator D.

We made a brief stop at the Everglades Museum and then Gator D took us to the docks for the highlight of our excursion, a very exciting air boat ride. We were all given ear protectors and then the boat took off at 50 mph. I thought my face was going to rip off! We were doing the equivalent of “wheelies” in our airboat.

In the end, we were sad to leave Gator D. And that night, Gator D posted photos of us on his personal blog. What a great souvenir! Take a look and you can see for yourself what our day was like. That’s us on January 6, 2012!

http://www.gatord.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2012-01-01T00:00:00-05:00&updated-max=2013-01-01T00:00:00-05:00&max-results=1

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Day- Lots of fun, lots of laughs, lots of learning!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We have a 6-year old son that came with us for the express tour. We all enjoyed it. We learned a lot from Gator D, saw a lot of gators, even got to hold one, and the airboat ride was a blast! No complaints. It was an amazing day!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Adventure also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing