We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff but.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Carlos R.V. Park & Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I must be honest and say that Its not really what we expected. The pics that are displayed on the site are the best spots in the campground...however, the much less desirable spots are not highlighted ;).
The location is good in that its close to the beach area. When we arrived, we were scheduled to stay on a lot close to the boat ramp and it was so SMALL that we decided to stay in one of the most expensive lots (the updated ones with big pads and small dock). Because if this we ended up paying considerably more than we anticipated but it was worth it.

They are making upgrades to the park so I cannot knock the owners for that, but its just a basic campground in a good location that is very clean. If you are looking for shady lots, this is NOT the place to go....very hot!!
The staff and service guys are very NICE and Helpful so that made up for it.

So on a scale from 1-10.
Cleanliness-9
location-10
appeal ...-6
staff-10
** And if your looking for a nice Italian restaurant then try pasta-abilities down the road :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for San Carlos R.V. Park & Islands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my first visit to San Carlos RV in Ft. Myers. The spaces are tight, but was it was easy to maneuver our 32 ft. motor home through the grounds. Most of the people in the park were snow birds, getting ready for their trek back up north. We met some very nice people that stay there year after year. There are not very many shaded lots, but we had a nice breeze off the water, and the temperatures were great. The restrooms were clean and convenient. If we do go back to Ft. Myers, we will stay at the San Carlos RV Park again

The best way to get to the beach is by the Ft. Myers Beach Trolley. We had a three day pass for $1.50 per person. There is a trolley stop at the front of the RV park. If you want to get some exercise, ride bikes or walk over the bridge. The beach is about a mile, and they have a bike lane. We walked our bikes up, and rode down! Traffic to the beach is bumper to bumper, but the trolley has it's own lane over the bridge, so it's much faster than driving.

Ft. Myers Beach reminded me of Weirs Beach, in Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire. Kind of old, trashy and touristy. There was a lot of street trash, and cigarette butts. The beach was nice, and there are a lot of really good restaurants with fresh seafood.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDR529LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. We have a 40' motor home. The sites and streets in this RV park are extremely small. We even paid for a premium site. We had to keep our blinds closed at all times, because our neighbors were so close. There is no natural vegetation on any of the sites, unless you consider fire ant piles and weeds with stickers. City/county ordinance prevents campfires of any kind - don't plan on a fire during your camp experience. The pool is sized for the number of campers they should ACTUALLY have in a park this size - about 20 people with half sunbathing at any given time. As far as the boating - the water in this area is very cloudy, not like other areas around the FL Gulf Coast and Keys that have beautiful, clear waters. The cloudy water is not the fault of the park owners, but buyer beware if you really like boating and fishing. Additionally, the marina gets VERY shallow. It is difficult to launch even a small-medium sized boat in their boat launch which is poorly paved hill into the water. We could barely navigate the water in our 21' flat-bottomed boat during low tide - they need to improve their marina or dredge it. They do have wifi, but the service is extremely slow; don't expect to "stream" anything or download files of any size. Although this park is great proximity to Ft Myers Beach by car, traffic going over the single-laned bridge to the beach was always bumper-to-bumper. It took us more than 30 minutes to get back from the grocery store (1-2 miles away) because of the bridge traffic. We never drove over the bridge to see the beach for this reason.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SK448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

As one of the owners of San Carlos RV Park, I want to apologize for the construction here this fall. Our renovation included seawalls and all new floating docks in the marina. The project was to have been completed by October, but went late due to regulations and permits. We worked as hard as possible to get it finished, but it went late. It is now looking great and I just wanted to let everyone know that we put a lot of effort into renovations each year because we want this park to be everything our campers are looking for. We try hard to please everyone and keep our park looking great. To do this we have to have renovations. We won't be doing another project of this magnitude again, so don't worry! Try us again now that things are completed!

Room Tip: As for our rentals, we have 9. Bldg. A is the nicest, with water views on two sides and a deck to s...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have been going to this rv park for about 5 years, it is in a good location and great for fishing. The problem is the constant construction being done and the endless noise. Always tractors running -always a mess. If you want peace and quiet, find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: If you do stay, get a site in the far back of the park, it's quieter there.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dearbornite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have been here for a week , and am staying one more. The campsite we have is fabulous.. Quiet , w/ a lovely view. Had dolphins swim by every day. The showers and rest rooms are very , very , clean. The owner, and everyone is so helpful. Bonnie at the front desk and Spencer have been great answering all our questions. Really a nice RV park , and so close to many attractions. Will come again... definitely. Blueeyes1943

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BLUEEYES194360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Cant wait to get back to this great place. I love nature and this is the place to see it. Birds galore, fishing, kayaking and boating...its got it all. The pool and jacuzzi are heated and very nice. The bath house is clean and they have laundry facilities. There are three restaurants within easy walking distance plus the the local trolly stop right up front. Its also good for people who are campers but have non camping friends. They have accommodations, on the water, for our friends and family. We will be back as often as we can. We live on Marco Island and think of this as our "island retreat".

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KIM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,092 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Coconut RV Park
Red Coconut RV Park
#5 of 28 in Fort Myers Beach
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Indian Creek RV Resort
Indian Creek RV Resort
#11 of 28 in Fort Myers Beach
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos R.V. Park & Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos R.V. Park & Islands

Address: 18701 San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2371
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a family owned and operated campground surrounded by the bay. Fort Myers Beach is just 1 mile from us. It's a easy walk to the beach or the LeeTran Trolley will pick you up across the street and return you to our par. We have Ultimate, Superior, Select Prime and Choice sites, along with a boat ramp, we also have floating docks and slips. Our pool and spa are heated all winter. In addition to our fabulous RV Sites we have a 3 bedroom, 2 bath trailer for rent. Fully Furnished with linens, kitchen necessities and a full size washer and dryer. Just bring your beach towels and enjoy your stay. We also have Free Wi-Fi throughout the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Carlos r.v. Park And Islands
San Carlos r.v. Park & Islands Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing