We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, happy hour and more...”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Amherst
Level Contributor
252 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great views, happy hour and more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Went to Doc Ford's in Fort Myers, FL 2 times recently. The view is awesome of the channel, docks and boats just under the bridge at Ft. Myers Beach.
They have specialty drinks of the day, a great happy hour prices and awesome food. We got the mussels and they were some of the best we have eaten. The sauce they cook them in, makes the dish. Just enough fresh tomatoes, garlic, white wine etc. The buffalo wings were crisp and spicy. But in case they are not hot enough, they give you 4 sauces to pick from to increase the heat. I stayed away from the extra hot, but the hot was hot enough. We also got a flatbread with shrimp, basil and garlic. It was light, and tasty. Give this place a try, especially during happy hours (3-6 daily).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandfromage22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Sanibel and Captiva Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,979
    984
    252
    77
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Ribs Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great restaurant, I had Seafood Paella and hubby had ribs, he said they were the best ribs he'd ever had, seafood was plentiful in the Paella and it was a bit spicer, just the way I like it, going back to,taste the ribs myself!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jokell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Sanibel and Captiva Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely location and great menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Loved the yucatan shrimp! Good portions and a great choice of entrees. Good for all members of the family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TaraW4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Sanibel and Captiva Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
“Amazing service and steamed oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

What a great place not only is the view wonderful the food tastes delicious. The drink selection is excellent! The steamed oysters were the best I have ever had. Also the grilled chicken sandwich and grilled flatbread shrimp scampi pizza was yummy. We ended up getting banana bread pudding so worth it amazing. Matt was an excellent server and he guided us told us everything we needed to know! Don't pass up this place!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Sanibel and Captiva Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Deliciously fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We went to this restaurant twice on our weeks holiday to FMB as we all loved our first experience so much and the second was just as good. We all ate different meals but all 6 of us agreed that they were the best meals of our holiday, so I can fully recommend : the shrimp platter, the grouper sandwich, the burgers, the snapper and the kid's fried chicken breast. They also make a mean mojito!
Service was great, the servers knew the menu and could suggest slight tweaks that made the dishes even more appealing to us. They were also friendly and happy to exchange banter with us even though they were busy. The whole atmosphere is relaxed, but efficient and the food is such super quality that we will go back again if we return to FMB.
NB. Although it is easily seen, it is a bit tricky to drive to unless the slip road is pointed out to you.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Sanibel and Captiva Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing