We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale of Two Restaurants”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Tale of Two Restaurants”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Few restaurants inspire a return the next day. Such was the case at Doc Ford's. My family and I had dinner there Saturday night after our first choice was closed for a private party. We were pleasantly surprised by the service and the food. All of which was impeccable. Our waiter was knowledgeable and prompt without being overbearing. The food was served quickly and pipping hot. The snapper and Yucatan shrimp made us want to come back.
And we did, the next day. Much to our surprise things were quite different. The service was uninspired, slow, and erratic. Although the shrimp were just as good the snapper was dry and not very warm. The sauce looked like it had been sitting on it since the previous night. We were very disappointed.
We will not write off this pleasant location and hope that on our return things will be the best of times and not the worst of times

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whaler4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,159
    1,023
    263
    83
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delish food and excellent service”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to doc fords last night for dinner. We got there just before happy hour ended (which we didn't know) and the waitress promptly told us about the happy hour appetizers and drink specials. We ordered the house margaritas and the mussels which were both awesome. For dinner I had the shrimp and grits which were very good and my husband got the Monday scallops special which was AMAZING, I told the waitress they should add it to the everyday menu and she said they have that special every Monday because they only use the freshest scallops and you can def tell. Out waitress Sandy was awesome and the food was equally good. The atmosphere is also very nice I would highly recommend this restraunt to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Rach83222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stopped here for lunch on our way to airport. Was a nice "goodbye" to Fort Myers Beach with a relaxing lunch by the water. We watched the boats come and go from the nearby marina while eating fresh tacos and drinking decent ice tea. Would recommend for views and for the variety on the menu. Service was also friendly and prompt.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mspexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga ny
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“want to go back”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

staing on sanibel, but over to fmb for some minigolf, so dined here. went on a wed eve at 6pm. was able to sit outside, but in and out filled up quick. view was lovely. our server, jon was very nice and effiecient. food was so good. lots to choose from. i had taquitos for an app and they were extremely tastey. had ribs that fell off the bone. yucatan shrimp...my husband could have drank the sauce with a straw. mahi mahi good. kids get ice cream sandwiches. i had key lime pie and was one of the best...and i have had lots. nice cocktail menu, but drinks were weak . menus very sticky...need to be cleaned. will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amymiazga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yucatan shrimp is a must”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Came in on a Tuesday evening and wanted to sit outside waterfront. They said it would be a bit so we went downstairs. We had to come back up, because it smelled of dead fish very strong and was not appealing. We came back up and got a table on the water in 10 minutes. Service was slow and had to ask waiter twice for my drink. It was good, the silver lemonade of some sort. It was large and took me the entire dinner to drink it. Hubby had ribs and loved them, very large rack with mashed garlic potatoes I think, and slaw. He said slaw was just okay, but really liked the potatoes. I had the mahi special, was okay, nothing to write home about. Some decent favors,but a bit sweet for me. Our friends had the ribeye, was ordered medium and came well done. Other friend had shrimp and scallops special which she loved.

Nice casual dining, lots of specialty drinks and menu. We did take one carrot cake home and four of us split it and was fantastic. Again the Yucatan shrimp was very good and came with crusty bread which we dipped into the sauce. Excellent flavors, but peel and eat was messy and they didn't offer hand wipes.

We may or may not try again when returning to FMB with so many other choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimdWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing