We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor Seating at it's Finest”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outdoor Seating at it's Finest”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A great place for lunch or dinner. You can spend a lot or just go for a sandwich. Everything we had was great. Wait for a table outside and enjoy the view. You'll be facing East so you won't see the sun set but you'll still get the effects of the setting sun on the shrimp boats. Great picture. The only reason I gave Doc Ford's a 4 versus a 5 was because of the Key Lime Pie. I love key lime pie and this was one of the best I've had but for $6.95 the piece should be larger.
I also like my key lime pie slightly chilled, this was room temperature. The fish sandwich was also the best I had in Ft. Myers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,109
    1,013
    258
    81
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a delightful setting”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We made our first trip to Doc Fords! We had an excellent lunch with a table on the water.
Appetizers are tasty and are large portions. The service was great.
We had the tuna appetizer and fried calamari.
Soup was good and the main courses were so unique with flavor.
We will be back there for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loucat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diner's Beware”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were 8 Canadian ladies in our 40' and 50's heading out for a nice dinner at Doc Fords. We were seated at a table a little remote from everyone else in the restaurant. Our waitress, who seemed very nice, immediately got our drinks. There was a live band and while we waited for our dinner our waitress, who we really liked and was very fun loving, told us to follow her and took us down to the dance floor. Two songs later, we returned to our table to find our purses in different places, some on the floor and $80 missing from each of two purses. When we asked to speak to the manager, she came to the table. What was extremely disappointing from there on in was the lack of interest the manager had for the situation. She said she would ask around, but in a condisending tone indicated we shouldn't have left our purses at the table. Amazingly, our waitresses entire attitude changed from there on in and when we asked her how come, her response was "I don't want to talk about it".

Without going into great detail about what happened from there on, the situation just got weirder and weirder. Not sure what was going on, but the general vibe was not good. We decided to leave, meals uneaten. The police were called to report the situation. Diners, BEWARE, when going to Doc Ford's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 5Deanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We enjoyed being at this restaurant, but we weren't impressed by the service received, but the food was better than average. The exception was the taco salad, and I wouldn't suggest this at this restaurant. I was told the salmon was ok, but not terrific.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BEACH4ME2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Good Service, Good Location”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Everything I've tried on the menu I liked except for the wings (under cooked ). The atmosphere is relaxing and the wait staff are friendly and prompt. Prices are decent and even in the busiest time if the season, the wait isn't too long.

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing