We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some great, some mediocre”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Some great, some mediocre”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent a month on FMB and were excited to try Doc Ford’s since it was so well reviewed. Overall, we thought it was a bit overrated. The cocktails expensive, some of the dishes were mediocre (penne with lobster shrimp) and some were great (shrimp tacos) and some in between: fish sandwich. The location is fun and the room pretty noisy. Overall, I’d go back for the scene and the tacos.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lola4310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,109
    1,013
    258
    81
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Love visiting Doc Fords whenever I visit Ft Myers Beach! Wonderful salads & appetizers(highly recommend the Black Bean Dip). On my last visit, the server(Mark) was especially polite and a definite asset to this restaurant. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guyandmrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just as good as we remembered”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Last year while staying on Sanibel Island we found Doc Ford's restaurant. We ended eating there 4 of the 7 nights we were there. My husband loved the shrimp and grits and we both loved the carrot cake. So this year we are staying on Marco Island and traveled to Fort Meyers just so we could go to Doc Ford's. The shrimp and grits were just as good. I had the fish tacos which was filled with fresh flaky fish and a fruit mango salsa, delicious. I also got sweet potato fires, I had forgotten how good they were. Very crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. It was excellent

Helpful?
Thank Debtomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The location is great, you can watch the boats come and go on the back bay. The live music on the deck is awesome. The service was quick and met our every need. The food was spectacular. The fish tacos, fish sandwich, the banana leaf snapper, and the crab cakes were fantastic. The other location on Sanibel is great too. The restaurant is named after a local authors protagonist in his similarly named novels, be sure to pick up one before you leave. I recommend Sanibel flats. Sent from Adam's iPhone

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparty239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great food and live entertainment”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Very popular bar type spot on the river. Get there early cause there is quite a wait.

Service was fast and friendly and we were seated quicker than what we had been told.

I love their mussels appetizer and Ceviche. My dining friends had the Quinoa salad which was huge and they said delicious.

A band called Chicago Mob was performing and they had lots of people on the dance floor.

Looking forward to returning

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing