We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & drinks”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
St. George, ME
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food & drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We will definitely be going to Doc Ford's again! This was the first time I have ever eatten everything on my plate at a resturant. I had the snapper special (server said it was the freshest on the menu for the night) which was panko crusted and served over mashed potatoes and veggies and a delicious sauce. My boyfriend had the mahi mahi dinner and said it was excellent. We went on a Saturday and sat outside where the had a live band playing. Overall great food and atmosphere!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,980
    984
    252
    77
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We loved Doc Ford's. The place itself is very cool and huge! Just off the island, but overlooking the harbor for nice view and atmosphere during dinner. Food was great. She had clam chowder and I had calamari as starters, both were very good. Menu is big enough for whatever you're in the mood for. We will definitely be back any time in the Fort Myers area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
“Just as Doc Ford & Tomlinson would want it :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We've been a couple of times by boat, tying up to the pilings in front of the patio overlooking the harbour. Never had a problem finding a dock.
It is as you would expect for a dockside rum bar ... casual attitude and island music, great drinks and a good selection of rums, wines and beers. Even the food is unique, tropical recipes are served quickly and in large portions. The servers are prompt, friendly and offer good advice . Prices are fair. Fun is the key word here .... and what a GREAT location!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinte613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Good food and location. It is not on the island but just over the causeway. Did not wait too long as we called ahead to get reservations and found out they do "call ahead" seating. That helped.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sunvacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and excellent drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We had amazing food and very tasty rum during our vacation in FMB at Doc Ford's. There was a terribly long line when we got there but they got us in extremely quickly. The seafood was excellent and their Mai Tai's were delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing