We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views of the bay”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great views of the bay”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

large resturant with great outdoor seating and views of the bay. We had the cheesesteak sandwich and pulled pork sandwich. both were very good. Janell wasour waitress and she was very friendly and took great care of us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,077
    1,004
    255
    80
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious-as always!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try a new restaurant in Estero. After waiting to be seated, then waiting 5 minutes for water, when there literally wasn't another soul in there, at 8:30, we said forget it and went to Doc Fords. We had been there last year on our trip to the area.
We were immediately seated outside and had drinks in under 5 minutes. I recommend the rum runners. We had taquitos for an appetizer. We had fish tacos and ribs for dinner. Everything was delicious.
Please note: when you cross the bridge from Ft Myers, turn left and follow the road under the bridge. It is not well marked !

Helpful?
Thank Tristam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great food, great service. Would highly recommend, and will come back again. Drunken parrot carrot cake was fantastic, the piece was plenty to share for the four of us. Rum drinks were refreshing, and choices were plentiful. My jerk pork chop was tender, and sauce was sweet and spicy. Sat on patio overlooking band, which was a little loud over our dinners to have conversations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spiderbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
188 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for FRESH and interesting menu!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Headed here at a busy time. Outside was full, inside restaurant was full and both had waits. So we sat in the bar area which killed the waterfront feel, but amazing service and good food made up for it. First off - read the story of Doc on the menu. Interesting. Then read the menu and the food combinations make sense and almost seem to have a history!

We started with Mussels and Beach Bread. Great start - except kind of pricey or 3 pieces of cheese bread. It is difficult to choose and entrée here - they all sound good. My daughter went with the pork chop - excellent choice. The plantains were probably tiny bananas (not plantains) but they were delicious. Hubby chose fish tacos which he inhaled. Son had ribs - very nice, and I had a fish special. White fish - and I cant remember it - so it must have been ok - but not out of this world. Dessert - Chocolate brownie split between us. Drinks were just ok - I ended up ordering doubles after my first drink, too light!

Docs is worth a second trip for sure. Get there early - sit outside or get near a window. Order one of the unique menu items. They are on there for a reason - they are doing them right! A great choice for families, groups. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siestaclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great place to sit outside and enjoy quality food.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I wish we had visited Doc Ford's before our last day in Fort Myers. The food and drinks were delicious and the outside seating afforded us the opportunity to catch up with friends while enjoying the beautiful Florida evening weather. Because we had a vegetarian in our group, I feel it important to mention that they had several vegetarian items to choose from on their menu. More that the single item option found at most places in the area. Our waitstaff was friendly and attentive and the food was great. We will defiantly go back to Doc Fords' again when we're in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing