We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service, and setting EVERY time!!!”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great food, service, and setting EVERY time!!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Doc Ford's is our favorite dining spot near the beach, be it for lunch or dinner, and has become our "must do" dining experience with out-of-town guests. We are never disappointed in the quality of the food & service on this beautiful harbor setting. Chef Greg truly aims to please! When I phoned ahead with a special dietary request, he was happy to adjust my meal to meet my needs AND paid a visit to the table to be sure all was satisfactory!!! The shrimp quinoa salad is my favorite (minus the shrimp), while my hubby's "go to" are the peel & eat shrimp and grouper sandwich.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,113
    1,013
    258
    82
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty, fresh seafood on the water.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Doc Ford's is owned by Randy Wayne White, writer of great Fl-base mysteries. As a local, he knows fresh fish when he sees it, and it ends up in his restaurants. The view is great, with shrimpers and pleasure boats zipping through the channel. On my last trip, the salads and grouper and mahi mahi sandwiches were terrific. Don't miss it if you're in Ft. Myers Beach on on Sanibel Island.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank suebird1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good place for music and drinks”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

visited here for a night out and drinks the music was good the place was packed and we had a good time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, IN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing fish sandwich”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Baked with a hint of lime, topped with slaw and enclosed in a whole wheat bun. Really tasty. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BookLadyPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The special that night was a grilled fish on a wonderful bed of mashed sweet potatoes with mangoes, snap peas and spinach leaves. It was delicious, and the chef came out and talked to everyone to make sure we were happy. The restaurant has a big deck and a nice view of the inner coastal waterway. And sometimes they have live music.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianaKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing