We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“nice view”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place has a very nice view of the back bay of Fort Myers Beach. You can come by car or boat. Live music on weekends. Only thing we don't like is that it is off the beach and you have to go over the bridge to the main land to go there. Its also tricky to get to as you have to go under and around the bridge to get there. It's easy to get to by boat which is why it's lower level is packed on weekends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Florida-Islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,153
    1,023
    263
    83
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“On the water. Outside seating.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Outside seating. On the water........ .. ..... what else to say. Quick service....... Everyone happy.......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluebox3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently Outstanding”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were here before and we'll do it again! Made yet another trip down to the beach for a dinner at Doc Ford's on Thurs. Nov 16th. Our family sent us a gift card and we never hesitate to use them. Our server, Tiffany, was personable, knowledgeable about the specials, very customer focused, and made the dining experience well worth the trip. The food is always, always, good. We started with an appetizer of calamari, done just right, not overcooked and rubbery as so many places make it. I had the shrimp, and hubby went for the fish tacos. Sounds simple, but the blending of the ingredients makes it all worth while folks. And just as an added bonus, two dolphins put on a show in the harbor for the entire restaurant for well over 30mins, They continued to play, jump, and set the wonderful mood for the evening. Nature at its best, what more can I say, besides, thank you Doc Ford's for your entire staff's service and "I'll be back!."

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blytheville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood and a Raging Razorback”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you like seafood this place is great. They have all kinds of taxidermied fish on the walls and a huge aquarium inside. Being from Arkansas and a Razorback fan, imagine my surprise when I saw a drink called the Raging Razorback on the drink menu. Yummy, had to have two.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tbouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner with family”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had dinner with my husband, sister and brother-in-law. We sat at one of the tables in the bar room so we could watch NFL football. Started our dinner sharing a pound of the Yucatan shrimp. As others have said, this is delicious. Very large, plump fresh tasting fish with a wonderful seasoning and bread for dipping in the spicy sauce. A pound was the perfect amount for the 4 of us to share. For dinner, I had the Mahi-Mahi in sweet soy sauce. The fish and sauce were good, but the jasmine rice has some flavor that I found distasteful. Husband and brother-in-law both had the paella and said it was good. Sister had the fish tacos. They were stuffed with fish. She only ate one and I had the other for lunch the next day and found it to be quite good. Would recommend this restaurant and would be likely to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashleyrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing