We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Rentals, Wave Runner Rentals, Personal Service and More!”

Mid Island Water Sports
Ranked #8 of 72 Tours in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mid Island Water Sports has been providing the best waverunner rentals, parasailing and dolphin tours on Fort Myers Beach for over 25 YEARS. Enjoy our hour and a half long excursion with a guide through the back bay while you drive your own waverunner and experience wildlife such as dolphin, manatees, rays, fish and birds from up close. We also offer freestyle riding with the largest riding area on the beach and the least boat traffic. Parasailing is a must with 1 to 4 flyers at a time! We also offer a full beach service with cabanas, chair and umbrella rentals and even Stand Up Paddleboards!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beach Rentals, Wave Runner Rentals, Personal Service and More!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I wouldn't even think of renting from anywhere besides Mid Island Water Sports. They have great equipment and friendly, personal service! They go above and beyond! We've gone on the dolphin tour and also rented wave runners and beach chairs/umbrellas. The guide for the dolphin tour was fantastic and very informative. We saw tons of manatees and dolphins. I think we've rented from both the Holiday Inn and Sandpiper locations. It's nice that you can park in the hotel parking lots, because parking can sometimes get hectic on the beach.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gweber, Owner at Mid Island Water Sports, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
What a compliment. Thanks so much for sharing with everyone. Looking forward to your next vacation to Florida and visit with Mid Island Water Sports!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    20
    3
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Wave Runner Experiences”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have rented wave runners from them at the Sandpiper location for a number of years, and beach chairs and umbrella as well, since we stay nearby. Went on the dolphin tour last year and considered doing it again with our 5 year old granddaughter, but wasn't sure if she would be comfortable for that long a time. We did take one out for 1/2 hour rental on two separate days, and she had a blast. The guys running the stand were very helpful in going over the operation of the jet ski both times.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrVTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gweber, Owner at Mid Island Water Sports, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Nice to hear that you had an excellent experience again on the waverunners. Kids of all ages can definitely enjoy our activities. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waverunner on Gulf, Boring”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We rented a waverunner on Ft. Myer's beach for an hour. I had a Groupon that expired so we did pay full price of $90/hour. It was not worth the money. The Gulf was rough and choppy. Also we could only use it in a restricted area. So it was back and forth. Finally we took the waverunner out as far as we were allowed and just drifted. That was the most pleasurable part of the trip. I would suggest renting the waverunner in the back bays where you may see something.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolM108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gweber, Owner at Mid Island Water Sports, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are sorry the freestyle riding wasn't for you. However, our guided waverunner dolphin tour sounds like something you would really enjoy! This is an hour and a half trip designed for the people who want to get out and explore. Our guide rides a waverunner and you follow along behind on your own waverunner into the Back Bay for sightseeing. We hope you will give it a try next time you are around. It is our most popular activity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The Dolphin tour is FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My adult children and I were looking specifically for this type of adventure and we found it! Mid Island Water Sports Dolphin Tour is THE thing to do in Ft Myers Beach! We had an awesome time, even though none of us had ever ridden a jet ski. Randy, our tour guide, gave us clear instructions and took it easy on us as we learned the ropes. We were able to get up close and personal with dolphins in their natural habitat. I had the best time and would certainly do it again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gweber, Owner at Mid Island Water Sports, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the waverunner dolphin tour and the customer service from our staff! Those are number one goals for us!!! Hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wicked Good Time!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stacey was our guide on the dolphin tour. She made it very cool. We had bad weather moving in and a minor set back. My wife, who had never been on a jet ski, wasn't feeling confident. We continued the tour 3up(9&11yo). She took us on an awesome backwater tour. Cutting the water like glass. We would stop and sit as they would curiously break water right next to us. The best was when we saw the spotted eagle ray breach the water! All 4 of us were like "DID YOU SEE THAT!!" Incredible! Can't wait for next year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpdTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gweber, Owner at Mid Island Water Sports, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We loved hearing from you!!!! Thank you for the visit. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid Island Water Sports also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mid Island Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing