We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Camping!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Coconut RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I found this place on Google, only oceanfront resort, crammed in their like sardines, our site was K3, good thing my husband is a great driver, I would never have gotten in this spot without wrecking our RV, but he did it, we couldn't put our awning out we were so close to the neighbour and trees, but we perservered for 2 wks., walk across the street to the ocean, the beach was incredible hense our rating of very good, if our site had of been bigger we would have rated them excellent. We had good Chinese down the street & good fish n chips across the street, affordable places to eat, but this place is VERY EXPENSIVE, we were across the road, we tried to get right on the beach camping but they were booked solid, we could have gotten in there for 1 night but who wants to move for 1 night. I had to keep my window closed when i went to bed as i could hear my neighbours chatting. We would go back here because it is incredible camping by the Beach, we went there every day all afternoon, beautiful place! There's a lineup to get in this place, they park them all over! They don't tell you that Wifi is at the clubhouse for free, not at your Campsite, that's a pain!!!

Room Tip: There is NO pool, just the Ocean, that's why i rated Excellent & no fitness centre either
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LuckyGalonNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed beachside, loved it. The spaces are tight but camping is camping and everyone was great. The staff was very helpful in helping to guide you parking the RV. Each site on beach side has a concrete pad and full hook ups. The beach is beautiful and the white , soft sand is awesome .
We are ready to return !!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kpgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd time there and we always have a great stay. Love the beach it is crowded but we are there for the views and beach. We like site 16 and advise walking everywhere. We stayed in a motorhome. Great service from the staff. Will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

After death in family,needed time in the sun. This place is wonderful for doing nothing. There is a beach bar/restaurant next door,what more could I want, a really nice dress up restaurant they got it too. We were there doing Shrimp festival,too much traffic. Wehad a very good time.
We are going back in MAY.

Room Tip: Be flexible and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNtravelerspouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

You have to know what you're getting into when you book at an RV park that is on a beach. Space is at a premium and they have to make money off of every square inch.

The section that is actually on the beach itself is laid out in an orderly fashion and sites are close together. The sites that are along the beach have concrete patio pads and short concrete parking pads. From the front of the parking pads are long planks of wood for the front tires to drive along. The sites are somewhat level naturally but I would bring large wood planks to put under your stabilizers/levelers even though the sand is pretty well compacted. The sea breeze always comes in off the water so if parking a motorhome, you may also want a tarp or device to keep the sand out of your front grill.

The section of the park that is across the street from the beach is an odd mash up of permanent RVs, park models and rental sites. Every inch is indeed put to use and you will see some ... creative sites. It all works out somehow and you are given assistance in parking your rig. If you have a travel trailer, they will even park it for you using their tractor. That is a great idea! Since we have a larger motorhome and went during the busy season, our choices in sites were somewhat limited. We wound up with a somewhat odd spot on the backside of the shuffle ball courts. It faced out to a side road but had some advantages over every other site in the park. One was that we had room to park about 3 cars. Another was that we had plenty of room to put the awning out and then some. Being that we were on a side road, coming and going by car was very easy.

While we were there, we found the front desk staff to be very pleasant and helpful. This was a great relief after reading some of the negative revues in this area. They must have addressed that recently. The Wifi is free and has good signal strength but the equipment cannot handle as many clients as connect. Sometimes you cannot even get an ip address. You can go to the clubhouse and get on a separate SSID that works fine if there is a pressing need for internet. The cable TV system uses a setup box for decoding anything but the local channels. I never wired the coach for that type of setup so just went with local TV over the cable connection which was very clear and in HD.

The bath house is older but clean and as mentioned, requires a key of which you are given 1 and required to pay a small deposit. I understand why they do that being right on the beach. The shuffle ball courts are very nice if you are into that sport. The traffic on the main road can be brutal at times but is usually not a problem where the park is located. There is a Publix supermarket about a mile from the park and in the direction of less traffic. There are a couple restaurants within very short walking distance and there is a 7-11 right next door.

Ft Meyers beach is a beautiful beach with a nice fluffy soft white sand that is unlike anywhere else I have been. It is worth it to stay here even for a few days if you love the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OhhWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stumbled onto this location after getting frustrated while looking for a reasonably priced condo on the Gulf side during March break.

While it is an RV park, Red Coconut also has a one bedroom apartment for rent, located above Gulfside Plaza. Located at the 3000 block of the busy Estero Blvd, the traffic backups end right around our front door but that only lasts until late afternoon. LeeTran (the local transit system) has a trolley stop right in front and across the street as well to accomodate nicely north and southbound trips.

A queen sized bed with a huge closet, two night stands and a large dresser with a mirror made up the bedroom. Large living room with lazyboy (my husband thought he died and went to heaven), comfy overstuffed chair and full size couch, decent size TV with a great selection of cable channels made the evenings and mornings comfortable. Kitchen was a good size with fridge with full freezer, electric stove and most appliances that you would need (coffee maker, microwave, blender, can opener etc). Bathroom was standard size with a tub/shower and the running toilet does need some attention. Of initial concern was the 12 gallon water heater but we are boaters so we good at conserving water. If more than two people stay there, it may be a challenge to not run out of hot water. We made it work for the two of us with no problems after the first day

The apartment is located above a chinese buffet restaurant, excellent German restaurant, nail place and a massage therapist. Our patio was directly beside the large vent system for the restaurants but the system is well maintained so most times, you will not even know two restaurants are 10' below you.

The patio had a table with an umbrella to protect you from the mid-day sun plus 4 patio chairs and even a beach chair that came in handy when we headed to beach (Beach access was also right across the road).

Located immediately in front of the Gulfview Colony, we learned that it was important not to mix up the two venues...Red Coconut does not have access to the facilities BEHIND the plaza - that is a private park. We used their laundry facilities one day, unaware that the Red Coconut facilities were farther down the road behind the office. Luckily we were done drying our clothes when we got caught. We also inquired about using the pool and the response was that we need to "buy a trailer". The man was very polite and asked if we wanted to play shuffleboard instead but it was good know the boundaries so did not continue to trespass on their property.

During prime time, the rate was $1150 per week but note that the monthly rate is far more economical and when we go back, we hope to stay three weeks and will just take the monthly rate to save money.

The only thing that could have improved our stay would have been the availabilty of a propane bbq on our patio to allow us to do more dinners at home. I suggested this to the office when we checked out and she appeared to be receptive to the idea.

Overall, this apt was a great place to park our hats and flip flops for 14 consecutive days

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwarkentin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our first time here & won't be the last. We stayed on the beach side & couldn't be happier. Yes, the 4th row can be noisy - ok LOUD -due to the traffic but it quiets down around 8:30pm. The beach is only steps away. Electric, water, cable, FREE wifi, sewer. Lots of people have dogs. Sites are smallish but the beach location makes up for it. I'm here for the beach anyway!! Staff is so nice & helpful.

Across the street is the other part of the park. Sites appear to be even smaller than the beach side ones. Paved roads versus the sand roads on beach side.

Love this park; wish we had found it sooner. It's not the cheapest but it sure is the coolest.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank solfetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,731 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
441 reviews
2.5 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,724 reviews
2 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Coconut RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Coconut RV Park

Address: 3001 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3618
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $60 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Coconut RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where you can be in the middle of everything or secluded away in your own private paradise. Red Coconut is located on Fort Myers Beach directly on the Gulf of Mexico and just 1 ½ miles from the Times Square area, we are within walking, biking, or trolley distance to everything the island has to offer. Bordering our park is the Matanzas Pass Preserve, which is a popular bird watching area and where the canoe/kayak launch onto the Estero Bay Blueway Trail is located. Take a quiet walk through the Preserve and launch your canoe/kayak in the morning then spend your evening watching the sun sink into the horizon while lounging on your beach chair on our 450’ of sugar sand beachfront. Bring your RV, tent, or rent one of our fully furnished mobile units. We offer full hook-ups including basic cable, laundry facilities & recently remodeled bathhouses. WiFi is now available for free to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Coconut Rv Park Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Red Coconut Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing