We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and nothing else”
Review of Bayfront Bistro

Bayfront Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Beach Trolley stop is on the road next to the entrance.
Description: Bayfront Bistro is located on beautiful Estero Bay in a pristine preserve area on Ft Myers Beach. 200 yards from the white sands on the Gulf of Mexico the restaurant shares this beautiful location with Snook Bight Yacht Club & Marina. Bayfront Bistro is a Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast Award winner and the wine selection has 400 bottles to choose from, with something to please every palate. Dine in air conditioned comfort in the spectacular dining room where every table has a perfect view of the Bay or outside on the dining deck. Our talented chefs have crafted menus that will delight your senses! Start your meal with our Asian Calamari or Caribbean Ceviche , try our famous Bistro Salad, and then continue with 8 oz Filet Mignon, Bayfront Butterfish or Black Grouper with Lobster Salad. And what meal would be complete without a selection of In-House made desserts such as Bourbon Chocolate Bread Pudding or Authentic Key Lime Pie? We look forward to seeing you!
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife took me and our children out for Father's Day. Despite booking reservations 3 weeks early my first choice was completely booked, I reviewed restaurants and saw Bayside Bistro had some good reviews. We arrived early anticipating a wait but to our surprise we found the restaurant almost empty. The appetizers were very good, the clam chowder was very good. My wife ordered the salmon, I ordered what I thought was the porterhouse steak and my mother ordered the filet. In all fairness the filet was very good but the porterhouse was a pork porterhouse and it was horrible, I was a little surprised that I ordered a pork porterhouse but that was my fault. My wife's salmon was very dry and all u could taste was soy sauce. When we asked to speak to the manager we were told she was busy but would be out shortly, 15 minutes and 50 mosquito bites later we left and just chaulked it up as a never again restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scott7081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We apologize that your Father's day was not an exceptional experience for you and your family.
It is always our intention that every customer be happy when they leave Bayfront Bistro. Your feedback has been noted and we really appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

905 - 909 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was invited back gave it a try this time the service3 was good as was the food. It was delicious. I would recommend thatb you give it a try. It is pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mangia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for giving Bayfront Bistro another try. We are glad your experience was delightful and really appreciate the time it took you to write a review. Your feedback is invaluable to us. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

As this was our first visit, we worked with the server on our menu choices and she was spot on as we enjoyed our seafood selections. The butter fish was on a par with the best we have enjoyed anywhere, and that includes Roy's on the various islands of Hawaii. As many know, Roy is often credited with the creation of miso-butter fish entrée. Roy uses Alaskan Black Cod and so does the chef at Bayfront Bistro. The restaurant is well appointed, casual establishment with a serene waterfront view. The name really does say it all. Most diners opt for dining on the terrace, but we prefer a well-sited table inside . . . and, you can get just that here. The bar is elevated, so that bar-patrons have an overview of the entire scene instead of being shunted aside as many bars do. Our server knowledgeable and attentive server, Gillian, would not let us go without giving us a 50% Rebate Voucher for future dining that could be applied at either Bayfront Bistro or Bistro 41. (I believe it is a temporary offer as we are now off-season in SWFla.) I could not help but read a few of the reviews below about portion sizes, and thought they were unfair. If you expect huge portions like you might get at a "Mama's pasta joint," that criticism is correct, but if it is top ingredients tastefully prepared, you will not be disappointed. I should mention that if you like your food strictly "gringo-style," you should alert your server as the chef adds a very tiny hint of heat to some of the dishes we sampled last night. It was fine with us and added to the complexity of flavors, but be forewarned if your are sensitive to heat so that the kitchen can make an adjustment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ohgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are thrilled that your first visit to Bayfront Bistro was outstanding and we appreciate your 5-star rating. We do have excellent Butter Fish (it is one of most popular entrees). We really appreciate the time you took to write your excellent review and we value your feedback. We hope to see you soon. We look forward to delighting all your senses again very soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Food was very good as well as the view. It is very expensive an the portions can be a little small for the price.

2  Thank mpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing Bayfront Bistro and your compliments. We feel we offer exceptional food at competitively fair prices - there are definitely less expensive place to eat on Ft. Myers Beach. We appreciate your feedback and the time you took to write to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

nicely appointed and lovely interior
staff pleasant but I think you need to be prepared for the crowd this restaurant attracts in general. Can be noisy

Thank circularthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for visiting Bayfront Bistro and your compliments. We always welcome feedback and would love to hear what was not on the menu that you would have liked to have had. Feel free to write to us at Bistrosowners@gmail.com You feedback is very important to us and we thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayfront Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing