We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer what it use to be!”
Review of Bayfront Bistro

Bayfront Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Beach Trolley stop is on the road next to the entrance.
Description: Bayfront Bistro is located on beautiful Estero Bay in a pristine preserve area on Ft Myers Beach. 200 yards from the white sands on the Gulf of Mexico the restaurant shares this beautiful location with Snook Bight Yacht Club & Marina. Bayfront Bistro is a Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast Award winner and the wine selection has 400 bottles to choose from, with something to please every palate. Dine in air conditioned comfort in the spectacular dining room where every table has a perfect view of the Bay or outside on the dining deck. Our talented chefs have crafted menus that will delight your senses! Start your meal with our Asian Calamari or Caribbean Ceviche , try our famous Bistro Salad, and then continue with 8 oz Filet Mignon, Bayfront Butterfish or Black Grouper with Lobster Salad. And what meal would be complete without a selection of In-House made desserts such as Bourbon Chocolate Bread Pudding or Authentic Key Lime Pie? We look forward to seeing you!
Reviewed February 7, 2013

New owners, new chef, not good.....small cocktails......complained about our issues and nothing was done about it! After leaving the restaurant, we received a phone call on my cell, we were told that we left without paying the bill, we went back to the restaurant with our receipt and the owner said it was a different table that skipped out on the bill, owner did not offer a drink or dessert for future visit.......we of course will not be returning to this unprofessional restaurant!

1  Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

First we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. As we did explain that night, after you left the restaurant, the server went back to your table and there was no receipt on the table causing him to panic. We mistakenly called you. When you said you did pay we apologized for the confusion and you insisted on coming back which you did. Again we apologized and at that time we did offer you a gift card for a future visit. Sorry for the confusion! Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

976 - 980 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

We initally chose Bayfront Bistro because of the Bistro name. This is far from what we'd consider a bistro. Wines are overpriced and pours are extremely small. A wine we normally buy at home for $18 a bottle was $15 a glass. They didn't even fill the wine glasses to the widest part of the glass - very disappointing.
The menu is more like 'supper club' food and tasted like it was all from a box, can, or freezer.
The shrimp cocktail consisted of small, rubbery, flavorless shrimp and came with a small pile of plain mixed greens with no dressing. Certainly not what I'd expect along the Florida Gulf Coast. When we mentioned the rubbery shrimp to the waiter, he just said 'oh', took the plate, and walked away.
The scallop entree had a bad rendition of mornay sauce and several large pieces of uncooked garlic. The portion was very small. Every single bite of seafood in the chioppino was extremely overcooked and the sauce was remniscent of canned tomato sauce rather than a homemade spicy bisque.
It was about 9:30pm when we arrived, and the place was mostly empty. Despite this, the staff seemed more intent on resetting tables than serving the few customers that were dining.
Based on other reivews, this seems to be the norm here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FoodWineLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We appreciate your feedback. There are two definitions of a Bistro 1), a small, restaurant serving small moderately priced meals in a modest setting, 2) style of cooking serving fresh and local ingredients. If you found us on our website you will see we are not the first definition. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations that night. All our wine pours are 6oz (many other restaurants only pour 5oz.) By 9:30 our rush of 300+ customers is basically over. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to send feedback to Bistrosowners@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went to the Bayfront two times during our week's visit for the two for $41 early bird special. Both times were excellent. I had the cioppino both times. My wife had the pork and the salmon. All were good. You get a salad, entree, dessert for each person and a bottle of wine to share. Great value and excellent service. Our server the first night, Robert, was very friendly and made our experience very enjoyable. Overall, a nice dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tworxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed the Bayfront Bistro $41 special. It is very popular. The pork and salmon are very popular. We aim for all our reviews to be five star so thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely position, great table, and good service. My food was great, mussels and grouper, my partner's not so great. He didn't think his chowder was that good and his lobster pasta, a little short on the lobster and too salty. But we agreed maybe he should have chose the same as me so we will return and I will order for him!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PebsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are happy that you dined at Bayfront Bistro & thank you for your feedback. We hope that your next visit will be a 4 or 5 star review with no splits about it!! Thank you for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Every year we are excited to visit fort Myers beach and have a couple nice nights out for dinner during our 2 week vacation at pointe estero... Well lets just say bayfront bistro has become a place like castaways except for the prices ,, wines now are over the top in prices,, the food is something I could get at a hospital cafeteria (meaning where is the flavor) everything was bland and cold this probably because our waiter was to busy flirting with one of the waitress and probably left food sitting in the back ,, and I think this guy we had was drinking because he had alcohol odor pouring out and just wondering around but never checking on us for refills or more cocktails... Needless to say our bill came and couldn't have come quick enough we were fed up and waiter just threw it on table and couldn't even say thank you where do u get these waiters from?? In the past we had wonderful experience there and to bad our waiter we used to have moved away very nice and always made for enjoyable times there, will never return and unfortunately like the old saying goes bad experiences r always told to at least 10 people ,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fishermanchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations that day. We have a strict "No drinking” policy for all our employees and we have addressed that issue. As for the wine prices we have over 100 wines under $50 and all the other wines are competitively priced some priced below other local restaurants. If you would like to further discuss please feel free to send e-mails to Bistrosowners@gmail.com. Your feedback is very valuable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayfront Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing