We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Mango Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mango Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Owners accommodated us at the very last minute on a holiday weekend. The room was clean and welcoming, and the breakfast was delicious. Definitely try this B&B!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 221 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B+B this past March, so this is a late review.
It was our first time to Fort Myers Beach, but we've been to Florida many times. Driving into Fort Myers beach during Spring Break wasn't quite as bad as I thought, thanks to Tree and Dan who gave us specific information on when to drive in....since there is only one main road coming into town, it can get quite ugly during peak times.

Upon walking into MSI, we were immediately impressed by the lovely gardens and pond. Dan took us to our room right away, and we were very pleasantly surpised! Full kitchen, and an absolutely lovely bedroom that was well furnished, and turned out to be very comfortable....ask Dan for the side story on how they acquired this property; it has quite the history;)

The breakfasts were very yummy, and different every day.

MSI supplies everything you need for the beach. We are quite lazy, but really didn't mind the short (four minute?) stroll across the street to get to the beach, because the beach is fantastic! It's not a sugar white, but a golden beige. Noone is there to annoy you, because MSI's location is somehwat more residential, and less hotelish. We had a great time swimming in the calm water and watching the suicidal birds dive bomb for their food every day.

Don't miss Heavenly Biscuit, right next door....the cinnamon buns are to die for. We were less impressed by Lover's Key, to be honest. But we did enjoy the easy walk into town (about 10 minutes) where all of the action is. Lots of restaurants to choose from!

Lastly, a shout out to their dog...the sweetest little guy ever!

I think anyone would enjoy this place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittsurghpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We discovered Mango Street Inn by chance when driving by! After a warm welcome by Dan and a quick look over the premises we knew we had found somewhere special. Tree was great fun and gave us a great welcome when we met her later.Three super days followed with delicious breakfasts prepared and served by Dan in Cajun style. Everything exceeded our expectations with such a homely and friendly atmosphere. We also met some great fellow guests. It certainly is the #1 accommodation on Fort Myers Beach.We will be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

After a great stay during the torrid June of 2011, we returned with friends to help this reviewer celebrate a milestone(we won't tell which one!) birthday. The six of us arrived in two identical rental cars and were quickly welcomed as old friends.

Our friends quickly fell into the laid back atmosphere with us as we walked on the beach and enjoyed meals at Terra Nostra and Merlo's, our two favorite local restaurants. Dan and Tree continued to provide us with a high level of assistance in picking tourist venues as well as local information including where to buy groceries, beverages and a birthday cake.

The facility continues to be very clean and comfortable. We rented two of the one bedroom units but did most of the indoor frivolity in our two bedroom unit. Our friends commented that their favorite part of the trip was to sit out under the inn's pergola, drink wine, eat goodies and laugh and laugh and laugh!

Dan amd Tree are very special innkeepers who offer visitors valuable advice, comfortable and clean rooms, great creative breakfasts and close proximity to the beach at very reasonable prices.

We can't wait for our third stay in the very near future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We spent one week at the Mango Street Inn. From the time of our arrival, Dan and Tree welcomed us more like friends than first time guests. Our suite was beautifully decorated, as was the common area, which consisted of a huge deck, interspersed with small gardens and covered, in part, by a very nice pergola, under which we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts. After eating our dinners in local restaurants the first couple of nights, we decided to place food orders "to go" so as to enjoy our meals back at the Inn. The softly lit pergola and light background music, emanating from a stereo on the deck, provided the perfect ambiance for comfortable dining.

The Inn is located 1 block from the beach, 2 blocks from the nearest shopping area and a 10 to 15 minute walk from the town center. Night life is close, but not too close! Dan and Tree provided us with beach towels, chairs, umbrellas and bicycles.... in short, everything that you would have available at your own beach home. We had a really great time and can't wait to return.

Tom & Liz

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Felt like we were staying with old friends.....and now we have new friends! Spent 3 nights at the Inn with family for Thanksgiving. The owners provided the turkeys and the guests and friends of the owners all contributed to the meal, it was delightful. The accommodations are very comfortable and nicely decorated, very beachy! Beach is right accross the street, many restaurants and activity within walking distance. The breakfasts were excellent, something different every day....served outside on the patio, with an herb garden, wind chimes, water fountain and tropical foilage. All the beach supplies you need are available at the inn. We're going back next Thanksgiving and make it a holiday tradition.

Room Tip: There are 6 suites, all ground level opening to the shared patio. All seem equally nice, some large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southernthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Mango Street Inn! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone going to Ft Myers. It was in a great location - walking distance to the beach, the rooms were beautiful and very reasonably priced, and best of all, the owners were just as nice as could be. They were very helpful with recommending restaurants, things to do and places to go, and they let us borrow beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, etc., for free! The room we stayed at had 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, a full kitchen and living room. It was very charming. The inn has a beautiful atrium with beautiful plants, flowers and a fountain, which is where they served breakfast every morning (included with the room rate). The food was phenomenal! Our flight out wasn't until 7pm, so the owners let us stay past checkout time, so we could go to the beach, come back and shower before going to the airport. I don't think I have ever had a better experience staying at a hotel anywhere. I would highly recommend the Mango St Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,907 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#16 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
290 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manatee Bay Inn
Manatee Bay Inn
#2 of 7 in Fort Myers Beach
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Street Inn

Address: 126 Mango St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $158 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique bed and breakfast style inn just footsteps to the white sands of Fort Myers Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mango Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Street Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing