We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Coldest Beer”

Yucatan Beach Stand Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Mt Prospect
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food and Coldest Beer”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

They have the best nachos and coldest beer in town. Everything I've ordered was very tasty except the escargot has a little bit too much butter for me. Great entertainment in the evening and great staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    606
    220
    77
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great drinks, decent food.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love the atmosphere of the Yucatan. The decor is very original and feels like it should be sitting right on the beach rather than in town. The specialty drinks, such as the Yucatan punch, are fantastic. They have live music, which was good on the nights we were there, although a bit loud if you happen to be sitting near the "stage" area. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was not fantastic but certainly tasty and above average. The nacho appetizer is a good example of how the food could have been better. While the nacho chips and veggie toppings were good, the whole thing was swimming in the kind of cheese "sauce" you get at a stadium. In a restaurant and for the price paid, a generous topping of real cheese melted in the broiler would have been expected and appreciated.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Yucatan is right around the corner from my hotel, so it was naturally the first place I tried for breakfast. I walked in and was only one of 2 people there. AJ my server took my drink order immediately, and he was super nice. I was by myself, so he made me feel really comfortable. I ordered the breakfast burrito with chorizo that came with a side of home fries. If you love chorizo, then you should definitely try this! Soooo delicious. The bar itself has a really cool vibe, and I'll have to check it out for happy hour. Again, AJ was awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Ok food, better music.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Went to Yucatan on a Thursday night for dinner with my husband and 3 kids. Got right in, no waiting. Free parking at the restaurant. We had: calamari, clam dinners, ribs and a seafood pasta with scallops. The calamari was ok. Pretty standard. Same as what u get in Nebraska. Clams were tiny little nubs of mostly batter. The pasta was good as were the ribs and onion rings. Fruity punch drinks cost $7-9 each. There was live music playing which was enjoyable. We may have been the closest table to the musician so it was somewhat loud but he was quite good. All in all, just an average dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buggeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must stop”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

After a disastrous stop at SOB we lande here and enjoyed good food, great service and a nice breezy atmosphere. It was during the afternoon so I can't comment on evening service. I would consider it a great lunch stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yucatan Beach Stand Bar also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yucatan Beach Stand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing