We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Fort Meyers Beach Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise on Fort Meyers Beach Florida”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Thank You to the Outrigger Resort staff. You do a wonderful job keeping up the property. Very clean and comfortable. Nice pool, beautiful beach, lovely rooms, (and I,m fussy) great tiki bar and wonderful sundeck with plenty of chairs. Theres definitely enough parking for the people staying at the resort. We will definitely be going back here. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    633
    225
    91
    44
See reviews for
577
692
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a last minute Christmas trip to the Outrigger, and I wasn't sure what to expect since the price was so low. It was definitely a gamble on our part.

When we first arrived I was a little skeptical. We arrived around 11 AM and were helped by a very friendly front desk attendant named Brenda, who told us our room wasn't ready yet. We had booked an office-side efficiency since that was all that was left available, and noticed upon arrival that there were workmen renovating rooms in that area. I asked if our room would be near that construction, and were told that it was not.

While we waited for our room (check-in was at 4PM) Brenda also helped us to arrange a rental car at a discount. Note: DO NOT RENT YOUR CAR FROM THE AIRPORT!! We were quoted an insane price for a car from there, both online and in-person. Instead, we booked with the Enterprise branch on Fort Myers beach, and got an upgraded car for a quarter of the price quoted at the airport.

After we returned with our car and lounged around on the sundeck for a while, our room was finally ready. I think that they had just finished the renovations to the room that day!! It had a new kitchenette with a nice eating area, new bathroom with modern accents, and a really nice walk in shower. The one thing that we couldn't figure out was why they hadn't changed out the old 50's toilet?? The old thing had some trouble flushing and ran all the time. Why change everything but that?? The beds were VERY comfortable, and I'm a little upset that I didn't remember to check what kind of mattress they used.

I had a small fit, however, when I found out that we were right next to the rooms that were still being worked on, and I told the front desk that I wouldn't be staying if there was noise, etc. I don't like being lead on! Especially since by the time I found out the location of our room, it was really too late to look for somewhere else to stay at least for that night. In any case, there ended up being minimal disturbance, and I'm glad we didn't leave.

The resort is one of the older motel-style establishments, but it has more character than the high-rise condos.There is some wear and tear and 'kitchyness', but mostly this just added to the charm. This is not a pretentious place, it's a "kick back in your t-shirt and flip-flops" kind of place. We loved the open air tiki-hut bar for nightly drinks and music, and we also loved the fact that it closed around 9PM or so. This kept the place quiet at night. There is a small restaurant on-site as well, and it served a pretty good breakfast buffet. The restaurant would also serve food to the patrons on the large sundeck and also to the tiki-hut.

The beach was so wonderful!! Beautiful powder sand, and just SO much of it. I'm not sure how the stretch of beach in front of the Outrigger was allowed to not have a grass barrier, but there was none. Just a huge expanse of sand. If you walk in either direction down the shore, the grass barrier begins, and you can see some wildlife, and find lots of shells. We saw many dolphins. The one thing that was bad was the condition of the cabana cushions on the beach. They really need replacing. However, you can rent a cabana for the whole day for 20 bucks. Not too bad, just bring towels to cover those cushions!!

For a gamble, this trip turned out to be much better than we had expected. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Outrigger Beach Resort is a must stay!! We stayed here for 6 days and 5 nights for our honeymoon and it was amazing! The staff and resort are wonderful and Fort Myers is a beautiful city. I highly recommend this for couples and families!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 401 which was on the top floor, corner room. It overlooked the beach and Tiki Bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epr717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This resort was a nice surprise. The room was outdated but very clean. They are in the process of redoing them. The staff here is outstanding from everyone at the front desk to housekeeping, bartender, cafe staff and renting a cabana. The grounds are well kept too. The cafe food is priced with the area and a little high for the value but very good. You can always eat in your room. Great location out of the everyday crowds and traffic of the square. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool view or ocean view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsladoje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

On the second trip to a place, some of the little things missed from the first are easier to spot. I can say that it wasn't so at the Outrigger. Yes, it isn't the newest, fanciest, or nicest on the beach, but for a comfortable, we are glad your here kind of establishment, it is perfect.

From check in, through check out, the staff are wonderful. Friendly, and genuinely glad that you chose their hotel for your trip. The rooms.... 4th floor over the beach... are well sized, clean, and fully stocked.

Room Tip: The rooms over the beach are the best. Perfect to relax, and the sunset, amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justaguy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed in early December, the staff was Fantastic and the location great. The beach in front of the hotel was clean, The staff assisted with directions and provided a map. The Tiki Bar was relaxing and a Good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garysfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Outrigger with a couple of friends for 5 nights. The service was fantastic and location was as about as convenient as you could get. The hotel did look a little outdated compared to the photos online, but that is my only complaint. It was right on the beach and had a pool. They also had a cafe in the hotel with very good food and a tiki bar.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
384 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,807 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Beach Resort
Address: 6200 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise is yours to discover here at The Outrigger Beach Resort! Located in picturesque Fort Myers Beach, our family-friendly hotel greets you with outstanding service and a vibrant Polynesian flair. Enjoy comfort, value, and good old-fashioned fun throughout the resort, from the 144 guest rooms to the two on-site restaurants and beachside Tiki Bar, which features live music daily. With the beach right on our doorstep, you and your family have plenty of fun things to do, like collecting seashells, sunbathing, water sports, or even watching pods of dolphins frolic in the warm Gulf waters! We also offer easy access to all the terrific activities and attractions of nearby Fort Myers, Naples, and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing