We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gulf breezes, sugar white sand, beautiful sunsets, relaxation...Perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outrigger Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived at noon on a Monday and was able to check in early! Standard room was large except bathroom, almost had to stand in shower to shut door. We had 2 beds, with a small table and 2 chairs.

Our view was of the back parking lot, bbq area and hallway to the beach view rooms but that was ok cause we only stayed in our room to sleep. We didn't notice the noise from the A/C or from the hallway & other rooms.

The beach was well maintained, raked every morning, sugar white and as fine as flour. There were some chairs to sit on the beach near the sundeck & Tiki bar. Cabanas could be rented near the gulf. We did notice that some of the Europeon guests thought it was a topless beach. The sunsets were spectacular and there were lots of shells to see when the tide went out. We also saw many dolphins swimming close to the shore.

Our stay was at the end of spring break so there were a few young children but all were all well behaved in the pool area as many of the older guests used the pool every afternoon. There was live music at the Tiki Bar every evening from 5-8 which could be enjoyed from the sundeck, pool area or on the beach. An added bonus was right down the beach was the Women's Sand Sculpting Championships. We also had beautiful weather, 85-90* everyday.

The trolley stopped right in front of the resort which was the best way to travel to "Time's Square" as parking was limited & costly downtown and at times with only a 2 lane road it could take a lot of time to travel a short distance. The trolley was 50 cents a trip or $1.50 for an all day pass and it came by about every 20-30minutes.

There was a breakfast buffet for $8.99 at the Deckside Cafe which had several choices but some of the hot items were "cool" right after they were replenished but that could have been because they were busy & trying to keep up.

All of the staff from the front desk to housekeeping & groundskeepers were very courteous and professional.

Only suggestion would be that they have "Flag Warnings" for the waters, we, as well as families with younger children, spent one afternoon swimming in the waves in the gulf, to find out there was a strong riptide warning after we returned to our room. Always check the weather before going in the water. I know the hotel beaches in Pensacola post different colored flags as a warning for their guests.

Would highly recommend the Outrigger, we are already planning a return visit next spring with friends!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a ocean view select the gulf rooms with the balcony overlooking the beach. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreBeaches8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was my second stay at the Outrigger and again an amazing place to relax and recharge from busy schedules, lifes drama and stressful days. I was upgraded to a beautiful beach view room where colorful sunsets were viewable from the balcony. Bed was comfortable, soft and very clean room. The weather was perfect and could leave the sliding door open and listen to the ocean waves all night long. Brilliantly bright stars were indiscribale. Dolphins were jumping every day a short distance off the beach viewable from the balcony. Starfish, sand dollars and all types of shells everywhere. This weekend there was a city sponsored sand castle competition by women artist from all over the world benefiting women with breast cancer..
Outrigger had wonderful food especially their bananna walnut pancakes and margaritta's. Staff was very acomodating from Mike, to the young woman behind the check in counter and the staff in the restuarant and the cleaning staff..all wanting to make our stay fun and relaxing.
The dance band DAZ was talented and fun. Fantastic voices.
Walked the beach in front of their location and found the heart in the clouds in the sky....
I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: request a top floor so you dont hear anyone above you. Corner rooms are right by the stairs ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

we stayed at the outrigger beach resort. it was relaxing, the facilities very clean, and service from the desk to housekeeping courteous and professional. the location is perfect...right on the beach and away from the busy fort myers beach area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Outrigger is an older resort, but very clean and well-run. It is not a fancy high-end resort but it is still very nice. We got an oceanfront efficiency, which had 2 beds, a livingroom area and a kitchen and balcony with a beautiful beach. They are on the best beach on the island, for that matter, the best beach we've been to. The beach is very wide and the sand is very very soft, white and clean. The Tiki bar is great, right on the beach and you can get any kind of drink and relax by the pool, the deck or the beach. The Deckside Cafe has decent food that is not expensive compared to the other restaurants in the area, and has a very expansive menu. My young son loved that he could get pizza, ice cream cones and their giant chocolate chip cookies there. They also have salads, burgers, etc and a pretty good breakfast buffet. There were mainly families and older folks there, which was great because the atmosphere was a party atmosphere but not annoying or out of control. The staff, especially the cleaning crew, did a great job. Friday they had a wine and cheese party and they have a band by the bar most nights. Every night at sunset they trumpeted the conches, which is a very cool tradition. We loved it and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ecbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great little place to stay. Smaller buildings with easy access to beach and pool. Kitchen was nice to have in one of the efficiency rooms. Seemed to be older clientele and families staying there. No spring breakers as you have to be age 24 to check in. Far enough away from busy Times Square. Dont try to drive into Times Square for dinner, as it took us an hour to go 4 miles. It was spring break time however. Food was very good at the Deckside restaurant if you ordered off of the menu, but would not recommend dinner buffets.
All staff at resort were very friendly and accomodating. Our family would stay there again if we go back to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tagw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place. We upgraded to a beachfront ground floor room so you walked rite out onto the softest whitest huge beach. Room was very large. Atmosphere here was very laid back and tropical. I would return in a minute.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springsjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great resort to stay at if you want somewhere that is down to earth, not full of the super frills of a mega resort. An amazing beach and fun tiki bar! I would definitely recommend the oceanfront rooms with kitchens, perfect for families! Note: if you are tall (over 6ft), make sure you don't stay in the standard rooms, the beds are not very long.

Room Tip: Oceanfront with kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelinMomma1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,731 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
441 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,895 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#29 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Address: 6200 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4498
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $110 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise is yours to discover here at The Outrigger Beach Resort! Located in picturesque Fort Myers Beach, our family-friendly hotel greets you with outstanding service and a vibrant Polynesian flair. Enjoy comfort, value, and good old-fashioned fun throughout the resort, from the 144 guest rooms to the two on-site restaurants and beachside Tiki Bar, which features live music daily. With the beach right on our doorstep, you and your family have plenty of fun things to do, like collecting seashells, sunbathing, water sports, or even watching pods of dolphins frolic in the warm Gulf waters! We also offer easy access to all the terrific activities and attractions of nearby Fort Myers, Naples, and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing