We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, the Outrigger is a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the Outrigger. On our previous visit we stayed in one of the little cottage unts, but this time we splurged on a beachfront efficiency - wonderful beach views, lovely room. These are the newest rooms on the property, but we've found that no matter where you stay here your room will be clean and the service will be friendly. The beach is very wide here - one day we rented a beach cabana, and it was heaven, The large sundeck features covered tables as well as a pool area. The live music at the tiki bar stops early enough in the evening to ensure a peaceful night.

Room Tip: Do look carefully at the website, as there are many different types of accommodations. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herestoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were here over Valentine's weekend for two nights and the weather was cool and gray so we did not get to take advantage of everything the resort had to offer.

Bit, we were warmly greeted by the front desk staff. A map of the resort and the location of our room was provided along with the free WiFi code. We parked in their large lot and went to our room only two rooms from the beach and overlooking the pool. I don't understand people complaining about views since the resort clearly explains the room categories. Less money = office or other so-so view. More money = pool, beach and/or partial beach view.

The room was very clean if not a little dated, but it was definitely clean. The beds were a bit soft for my taste, but your mileage may vary. The kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, sink, etc. was very handy.

It's also at the quiet end of the island with a trolley stop just across the street. For $1.50 you can ride al

Room Tip: Check out the TIkir Bar for great sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Outrigger has some goods and bads. Goods: on a beautiful beach, easy parking (no annoying valet only/parking fees), free good internet, no resort fees and a generally very good location. Bads: overpriced, smokers and smoking everywhere (except in rooms), only uncomfortable lounges on the beach or "rent a cabana"-which didn't look especially appealing, pool towels that were more like a piece of gauze with a blue stripe.
Our first 2 nights we were in a first floor room that had billions of very tiny gnats or fleas or something. They didn't bite but were everywhere. The second 2 nights we were in a 3rd floor room that did not have these guests. The property is clean and attractive and appears to be well maintained.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DickandJudy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLBIGOS, General Manager at Outrigger Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Examples of AVERAGE
1. The average of 16, 8, and 6 is 10.
2. Take all these temperatures and find their average.
3. An average of 2,000 people attended the show each night.
4. Prices have increased on average about eight percent.
5. On average, women live longer than men.
6. His work has been above the average.

According to the ‘internet’ this is what average means. To the Outrigger – Average means we didn’t try hard enough. We host thousands of guests annually and while we all might be a bit ‘average’ we consider our guests to be exceptional. Our goal is to provide the best possible vacation experience and to always provide above average service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

By any means, I am not a travel snob. But for the price, could have done better. Unfriendly staff, minimal assistance by a staff who spoke no English. Front desk was somewhat rude at check-in. Room was in a bad location over looking maintenance area, even though it was booked 3 months in advance. Rooms are old and in need of remodeling. cleanliness not so good over all. Strange mold odor, noticeable by all who entered. Water pressure in shower was so low it took 15 min to draw a bath. Pool very small for facility. On the bright side, the beach was beautiful. I probably wouldn't have expected as much had the price not been what it was. This was a recommendation by a friend, but they had not been here in sometime. Over all dissapointed - would not return. Way over rated.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We did not know what to expect and we were blown away during our entire stay at the Outrigger. We had perfect weather when we were there and the main beach by the pier was extremely packed... but this one was perfect. You cannot ask for a better beach. The resort has a massive maze of a deck with tiki umbrellas sitting all over the place and it is very inviting location to be when trying to get out of the sun for a bit. The tiki bar on the beach is very busy and could have used one more person working there... but the drinks are cheap and the bands were wonderful. The Deckside Cafe has great prices for really good food. They did get backed up considerably one day while we were there but we also had a fairly large group and the deck was a great place to wait at. We cannot speak loud enough about the excellent service at the resort. They were all great. The resort is not a 5 star hotel but it is an excellent place if you do not want to spend a ton of money and want a very nice place on what I consider as the best beach in Ft. Myers. We will be going there again... not only to hear the blowing of the shells when the sun goes down but to enjoy all of the amenities they have to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TechieRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You do not need to be worried about staying here. Even though this property is a bit older it is very clean. We found the price of a room here was a bit less expensive compared to other hotels in the area. It was a touch more than what we wanted to spend but we really wanted to stay directly on the Gulf and that is what we got, the beach was absolutely amazing there. Our very quiet room had two very average queen beds with a nice mini fridge. We spent a small amount of time at the Tiki Bar, which is next to a very nice pool, and enjoyed the service for the reasonably priced drinks. We also decided to check out the "Cafe" for dinner and even though the food was OK two of the three meals that we ordered came out wrong. The buffalo chicken sandwich came out as buffalo chicken fingers, and the butterfly shrimp basket came out as the buffalo shrimp appetizer. They were close! We didn't bother sending anything back as long as we were charged properly. The waitress seemed really stressed out. It seemed like the two waitresses were expected to cover large areas in the cafe. Some extra staff might be beneficial. This hotel is only 20 miles from Fort Myers but took almost an hour to get to. Traffic on and off the island is absolutely horrible. The good thing about where this hotel is located is that it is away from the cheesy tourist area that you see when you first come onto the island. Overall, nice place! We probably won't stay here again only because our main focus was entertainment that was in the city of Fort Myers. The only negative about the place was the odor of cigarette smoke from the ashtrays that are on the property. No smokey smell in the room we stayed in but certainly near the stair wells and at the bar (which is expected).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OswegoMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our room had a kitchen, dining area, living area and our bedroom area. The room had a spacious feel to it and a fantastic view of the beach. On site they have a pool, beach bar, restaurant and game room. The employees are friendly and helpful. They also have a computer on site to use. This is a fantastic place and I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms facing the beach for an awsome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,666 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
399 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Address: 6200 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $110 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise is yours to discover here at The Outrigger Beach Resort! Located in picturesque Fort Myers Beach, our family-friendly hotel greets you with outstanding service and a vibrant Polynesian flair. Enjoy comfort, value, and good old-fashioned fun throughout the resort, from the 144 guest rooms to the two on-site restaurants and beachside Tiki Bar, which features live music daily. With the beach right on our doorstep, you and your family have plenty of fun things to do, like collecting seashells, sunbathing, water sports, or even watching pods of dolphins frolic in the warm Gulf waters! We also offer easy access to all the terrific activities and attractions of nearby Fort Myers, Naples, and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing