We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation in a friendly beach resort in south Florida by the Mexican Gulf.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outrigger Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Vacation in a friendly beach resort in south Florida by the Mexican Gulf.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I wanted a good place to stay for a couple of weeks in Florida at the Mexican Gulf coast in November 2011. One of few hotels/resorts with just good and nice reviews were for Outrigger Beach Resort. Now we know why! Friendly, helpful and courteous staff in reseption, bar and restaurant (food not for gourmets, but OK). Charlies across the road is just good!! The resort is a litle old, but clean and nice and all things and stoff works! Just on the beach, lively beach/pool bar in the afternoons, most days with live music. Every sunset just beautiful. Had a room with a small kitchen, view to the pool and the beach. Perfect for relaxing days!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    583
    213
    84
    42
See reviews for
522
665
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Outrigger Beach Resort for a few nights when we were looking at property in Cape Coral. I'm sure we could've found a motel in Cape Coral, but we chose Fort Myers Beach, so we could be on the ocean. We weren't disappointed. We asked if our room faced the ocean, and the answer was that some at the end of the motel did, so we upgraded for $45/night, to a small suite on the top floor with a queen size bed and hide-a-bed couch. It included a kitchenette, so we didn't have to eat every meal out. It also had a private balcony that faced the ocean (and the beautiful sunsets.) I'd recommend the suites on the top floor, as they face the ocean, and no one walks past your room.

We won't be back, but only because we found a condo to buy in Cape Coral, which was the purpose of our trip.

Room Tip: There are elevators that go to the third floor, but we chose to be on the top floor, so we had to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

It's hard to believe that with all the plentiful accomodation on Ft. Myers Beach, people give the Outrigger such good reviews-it's AWFUL. I go to the beach here at least once a year, and I like to try different accomodation-I got a reasonably good deal here, so decided to give it a try based on the recommendations. Yes, the location is great, the beach perfect, but that can be said of ALL the properties that are beachfront at Ft. Myers, accomodation here has got to offer more! The Outrigger is not only a ugly motel from the 60's-the property has hardly been renovated since then-a lick of paint here and there and that's it-ugh! I walk in the room to the sickening sweet smell of some horrible air freshener-NEVER a good sign! - then on to the tiny closet of a bathroom and see-hairs on the toilet tank-gross! I haven't seen that in a long long time! The staff then moved me to a room that was only marginally better-meaning, no hairs lying around on the surfaces. As for the beach view, you cannot open your window shades here, and take in the view unless you want everyone to see you down below and walking by. I tried out the restaurant-of the marginal snack bar type variety-depressing, like the rest of the property.

In short, the Holiday Inn just 500 yards down the road is far far better lodging, cleaner, more comfortable, great restaurant and renovated rooms (but also a 60's motel) than this ugly old so-called "resort" - I could NEVER recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GirlTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLBIGOS, Director of Sales at Outrigger Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Wow. We are a bit taken back at the intensity of this review. I can only offer our apologies and request that GirlTravel1 contact me to discuss the problems that she experienced. Perfection is the goal and we work towards that goal every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
para325
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Our family found this resort while searching online for a location to celebrate our grandparents 60th anniversary. The staff were helpful and courteous from the initial tour to the day we checked out. One of the best things was arriving at the resort to see my grandparents names across the marquee sign with a congrats on their 60th anniversary. They gave them a room upgrade and made us all feel at home. Our rooms were right on the beach and we had our family party at Charlies Boathouse restaurant. The entire weekend exceeded our expectations. This trip might turn into a family tradition.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms come with efficiency kitchens and have 2 flat screen TVs, ground floor means yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank para325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

A family tourist beach resort hotel ideal for anyone wishing to relax and sit in the sun. Do not expect a five star hotel but a clean well situated hotel with helpful staff and fine sun sets. A good restaurant across the road 'Charlies' as well as a small on site on.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Right on the biggest beach in Fort Myers Beach. The hotel rooms are older but clean and the staff is so nice! You can choose to sit on the beach or sit by the pool. The tiki bar is nice and convenient by the pool!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We recently stayed at the outrigger for a week and can honestly say that this by far was the best vacation my family has had! The entire staff were helpful in any way they could be!! Rooms were clean and the view of the beach and sunset is unreal! I would like to send a great big thanks to all for making my families stay the best!!!!
Tina B
Fort Erie Ont!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view the way to go!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#25 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Beach Resort
Address: 6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing