We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windward Passage Resort
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Direct oceanfront property: unit # 308: wonderful unit, screened in porch from living room to bedroom. Immaculately cleaned. Comfortable king size bed. The furniture is slighly dated but clean. Time share property that was very quite and plenty of parking. Nice property: free beach lounge chairs and you could rent a beach umbrella for $5 for the entire week. Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi. A beautiful walk along the beach to Times Square where there is plenty of shopping and restaurants. I would definately recommend: the property is clean, excellent view and overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The place is ok to stay for a short period of time. As 1200 for the week being the cheapest rate its ok for the value. You can always hear the air conditioner in the other rooms and the ones in the room are a bit loud but work awesome. This place is definitely for older people to stay at. If your looking for a place with a bar that's open daily and want to party this place is not for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ex331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we loved it here!!! loved Klaus the manager. loved the location on the island. I am so glad that this resort had an available unit. I have knee problems and walking to the water's edge was a piece of cake. Even the other guests were nice. You'll love it here!

Room Tip: we liked the building perpendicular to highrise. this did not have a view, but all activities are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sanbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Love it. Clean. We are in two br and two bath room with full kitchen with dishwasher overlooking the pool and the beach with huge balcony. Walking distance to shops. Huge sliding glass doors from master bedroom and livingroom onto balcony. Ocean views from every room. Beach is not crowded. We will be back.:)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Resa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Location, Location, Location! This is certainly a superb location right on a wonderful clean safe beach. A 10 minute walks along the beach or the side walk to the vibrant Times Square district of Fort Myers Beach.
The units are however very small, however you aren’t going to spend much time in them are you? The resort is showing signs of age but everything seems to work just fine. Plus points include; A/C very cool, Free washing machines and dryers a useful addition to travellers, Free Wireless internet and a unique tennis court located on the roof of the car park. Bad points; A/C unit noise, swimming pool can become crowded, very light in rooms at night due to most external lights staying on throughout the night and usual hassle of trying to reserve sun beds!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, WI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The units are well appointed and clean. Free laundry facilities are available on the first floor. This resort has a few different buildings. The tower units all face the ocean. The majority of the other units do not. However, this location is the BEST! This resort is north of the San Carlos bridge. Therefore, the traffic flow is MUCH lighter. There is also an easy access to the bridge. The beach is not crazily packed, and the sand bar in front of the resort makes for VERY calm waters....great for families. The resort has a heated pool, but also provides beach chairs. Umbrellas can be rented for the week. Sand toys and various floating toys are available too along with gas grills, tennis courts, and some planned activities.

Room Tip: We stayed in a separate building with two bedrooms and one bath. It was quite spacious compared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clsmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just barely made checkin on Saturday. Office hours are till 5:00 M-Sat and till 3:00 on Sunday. The one office person locks up and if you haven't called ahead to have them put your room key in the lock box, your SOL. Never been to a "hotel" before with 1 person on duty with no one there "after hours"!

Room is not decorated much, but completely supplied with everything you would need for the kitchen. They supply 2 dish washer soaps and garbage bags. You bring additional. They supply bathroom soap, you supply shampoo/conditioner. Laundry facilities are in the main walk area downstairs. They are free, but a bit of a pain not being in room. They supply 2 packages, and sell additional for $0.50 each.

The best part of this "resort" is the beach. Shelly, but beautiful. Glad we had watershoes! Their pool ranges from 4.6 to 8 feet deep. They do supply noodles and sand toys though.

While this place doesn't rank high on the "wow" factor, it is in a great location and the two staff members I've seen so far have been very nice. I wouldn't want to own here, but the visit was nice enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward Passage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Passage Resort

Property: Windward Passage Resort
Address: 418 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2098
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windward Passage Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windward Passage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward Passage Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing