We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is acquiring a slightly funky patina, which I like.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This hotel is acquiring a slightly funky patina, which I like.”
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Surprisingly, for a chain hotel, this La Quinta feels like a casual B&B (on a large scale). Clean-freaks will despair over the walkways (which need a good powerwash); the fried-food smells coming from the small bar (even when it's closed); and the musty smells in the rooms. However: the hotel has genuine beach character, which is so hard to find in these times of corporate standardization.
The staff are simply the BEST. They make this hotel special, and I hope the management recognizes how good their people are. Every employee went out of his/her way to be helpful and courteous. Not a cold fish among them either. These folks are warm, and welcoming.
The rooms and amenities are especially suited to families, people with dogs, and guests who just want to hang out around the pool and hot tub (which should both stay open later).
I will definitely return to La Quinta in Fort Myers-Sanibel, and I hope the hotel can maintain its excellent rates and attitude. Let's keep it casual; we'll all live longer!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aybceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    438
    241
    127
    84
See reviews for
461
459
96
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

My husband and I found this place totally by accident 4 years ago. Since that time, we stay nowhere else! We go to Ft Myers twice a year and will only stay here. The pool is great, the rooms are wonderful. We have only had the complimentary breakfast on one occasion, because we have a favorite breakfast place not to far away. The staff has always been wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmlover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel several years in a row. Some of the rooms have a musty odor but we stay because we like the pool and spa. So, imagine my disappointment when I head to the spa at 7 pm only to find it closed. It closes at dusk. SO, guess this means the pool is closed at 5:30 pm in January!! That's ridiculous!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rskmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I stayed at this hotel 7 times from 8/2008 to 12/2009. Each stay was without incident. Rooms have always been clean and well kept. Smoke-free rooms have all been fresh and truly "smoke free". I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel close to Sanibel, Captiva, and Ft Myers Beach.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed here twice during our October vacation for a total of four days. We selected the hotel based on the reviews on this site and its proximity to Sanibel, which is where we spend most of our time when we're in the area. It's a great value for the price. The rooms are basic but are pretty clean. The service is very good and the breakfast is excellent with a large selection of hot and cold items. The pool area looked very nice although we didn't use it. We'd definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Great atmosphere. We always have a great time there.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blondster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is a nice,clean property. The landscaping is excellent & the pool is resort size. It was open after dusk on all but 1 night of our stay.
The beds are comfy & the decor is newish & modern. Love the granite in the bathroom. They could do better on the breakfast,and I wish that the "bar" was open every day & had more.
But all in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vatofla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
11.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Myers Airport
7.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Address: 20091 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway offers spacious rooms, quality accommodations, and friendly service all in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. We are located minutes from the beaches of Ft Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva Island. There are lots of activities to kee...see morep you busy here, from deep sea fishing charters to boat rentals, many of your favorite water activities are within easy reach. There's plenty of shopping nearby for those moments you're away from the beach. Head on back to The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway and take a dip in our olympic-size heated outdoor pool, relax in the outdoor whirlpool, pump it up in our new fitness center; or how about a game of ping pong. Enjoy a spacious guest room with free high-speed Internet access, mini kitchen, micro refrigerator, and free cable TV. Enjoy our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning featuring make-your-own waffles and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Ft. Myers Hotel Fort Myers
La Quinta Ft Myers
La Quinta Fort Myers
Fort Myers La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing