We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shyster Operation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Dunedin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shyster Operation”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Arrived at LaQuinta for Friday/Saturday stay, with confirmed Travelocity reservation. Reservation was for Jacuzzi suite (they only have one). Learned they had given our room to another couple, blaming it on Travelocity. This was a classic case of bovine scapula. They called all LaQuintas in area with no similar accommodations available. More bovine scapula. The digital controls on the air conditioner did not work (wide open on cool), there were candy bar wrappers on the floor, and the curtain rod in shower was broken. Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FalconDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    446
    246
    131
    85
See reviews for
476
466
98
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I have family in Fort Myers, but my brother and I wanted to stay at a hotel so we could come and go (and wake) as we pleased. I was so pleasntly suprised by the service levels of the staff at this property. I work in the industry and have quite a few four diamond hotels under my belt, and I could compare the friendliness and can -do attitude of the employees to that quality. The facilities are clean and comfortable, and for the rate you can't beat it.

They offer a nice continental breakfast that includes a self-service waffle bar, fuit, beverages and pastries. There is a really awesome Piano bar and Thai restaurant walking distance from the hotel. One suggestion I would make is to offer bike rentals to take to the beach. Not a requirement, but it would be a nice amenity.

Again, what makes this hotel stand out is the service you receive for the rate you are paying. It was prompt and courteous, which should be expected as standard, but not alway the case. Anytime I go back to Ft. myers I will be staying at this location. Thank you for a great visit La Quinta Inn staff!

  • Liked — The staff was so on-point!
  • Disliked — Everything was pleasant.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josherrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Hotel is newly renovated. Carpet was new, bed linens, furniture and desk appreared to be new. The location was OK. It is next to the Tanger Outlet and Publix Grocery Store. Ft. Myers beach is about 10 minutes away to get to the north part of the beach. I booked two nights on Orbiz for $49.00US for the executive king bed with minifridge, high speed internet access, coffee (Maxwell House). Very large counter space in the bathroom. Shower was just a bit small but certainly not tiny. Pool is large, but did have the inexpensive plastic chairs. Gym inlcuded a bike, glider and treadmill by True. I used the treadmill and can say it was in good woking order. TV in the fitness room and the fitness room was nicely air conditioned. There was also a small universal weight machine. The free breakfast was not for me, but I didn't expect much. Overall I was very happy with the choice especially given the price. I have paid much more for much less.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location, too far away from the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seeyouinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Read other reviews and decided the give the place a chance, am happy we did. We got a price of $44 through AAA. Hotel has a large pool and is surrounded by chairs, recliners w/towels. Free internet in the room. All rooms have a fridge. Room is pretty average and the breakfast is just ok but the price and location made up for it. You are a 30 second drive from a brand new Publix supermarket and a large outlet mall. I think this has to be the closest hotel to the bridge leading to Sanibel & Captiva. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AU-GNV-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2008

When I booked this Inn, I already saw good comment from this site. upon arrival, found true as commented. Staff very friendly and helpful, location is excellent, next to Sanibel Island, and not paying the higher price. Breakfast is better than normal in a good side breakfast room. Large swimming pool. Definely will come back.

  • Liked — Location. price and staff
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Nice Inn for the money. Very convenient location. 5 miles to Ft. Myers beach. Two miles to Sanibel island causeway. Hotel was nicely furnished with large bathrooms. Air conditioning was nice and cold.The king sized bed was super comfortable. The pool area was gorgeous. It looked very tropical, like you were at a large resort. Pool was huge,and the hot tub was great. Always sparkling clean. Pool lounge had limited hours. It was closed on Sundays and Mondays. Overall everything was super nice. When we
return we will definely stay there again. You can't beat the value for money or the location.

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nic2372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

As far as I am concerned this is the place to stay in the Fort Myers beach Area. If you have plans for Sanibel and want to avoid "Island prices" make your reservations to stay at LaQuinta. The rooms are all refurbished. They have been done in an ultra modern motiff that is very easy on the eyes. We stayed in a King poolside business room. This room sports a pillow top mattress, thick soft towels, high thread count sheets and marble counters in the bathroom ...extras you would expect to find in a more expensive hotel. This facility also has an excellent pool area complete with hot tub, with lots of pool towels, tables and pool chairs. There is a very nice a lounge that opens in the evenings and doubles as a wonderful breakfast area in the morning. The breakfast was excellent and the staff attentive. All this at a very reasonable price, especially for this area. What more can you ask for?

  • Liked — EVERYTHING..the rooms, the faciilities, the staff!!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Meshallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Myers Airport
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
11.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Address: 20091 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway offers spacious rooms, quality accommodations, and friendly service all in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. We are located minutes from the beaches of Ft Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva Island. There are lots of activities to kee...see morep you busy here, from deep sea fishing charters to boat rentals, many of your favorite water activities are within easy reach. There's plenty of shopping nearby for those moments you're away from the beach. Head on back to The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway and take a dip in our olympic-size heated outdoor pool, relax in the outdoor whirlpool, pump it up in our new fitness center; or how about a game of ping pong. Enjoy a spacious guest room with free high-speed Internet access, mini kitchen, micro refrigerator, and free cable TV. Enjoy our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning featuring make-your-own waffles and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Ft. Myers Hotel Fort Myers
La Quinta Ft Myers
La Quinta Fort Myers
Fort Myers La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing