We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed for the wknd. The location is fabulous, 4 miles for sanibel beaches , right across from the mall.
rooms are spacious, but bathrooms are dated and not very clean.
Breakfast was very poor. Instant coffee machine, which left us with the only choice of tea as beverage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

I usually stay at the Motel 6, but since this was so close to the Sanibel Gateway we chose this property and boy I'm glad we did. The bed and linens were wonderful. The rooms were clean, came with a small microwave and fridge. The waffle breakfast was wonderful and came at a great price, Free!! On our last day we checked out the pool. I was surprised as I have never swam in a salt water pool, it was huge, and was heated to bath water temperature. We had a great time here and will go back. You can't beat it with a stick especially when the rooms on Sanibel Island are so pricey. I am now a fan of La Quinta Inn.

Room Tip: We ordered the King non-smoking. We don't have cable at home so the cable TV was a plus for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC10Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hello
I have elderly parents nearby, so I come to visit them regularly and stay here every time. I did become a "rewards" member and have been upgraded for free recently because of my "reward" card. It is clean, I feel safe, the breakfast in am is nice, but crowded!!! Needs to be spread out with more toasters for the bagels and breads......and coffee station.......its all grouped together. and way to crowded.....like a herd of cattle trying to all feed at the same time---I gave up on breakfast and went next door to a circle k for coffee. The location is convient-and affordable. there are no ocean views but it is convient to both Ft. Myers beach and Sanibel Island.
The pool area is nice and open and sunny and inviting!! When my husband comes with me, he sits pool side and does his work from computer.
The hotel itself, seems to keep up with maintance on the outside, for the most part....the elevators have been having problems lately---but there are more than one...... Is it a 5 star property-no, but it is a good place to stay.
One REALLY important feature for us, is that they allow small pets---and I adopted a rescue toy poodle, who loves to travel with us----so for this reason alone i AM GRATEFUL :-)

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool make it feel like vacation :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginnyp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This property is not really a hotel but a motel since access to the rooms is from the outside. It is a pretty old building, having been a Radisson about 12 years ago, then a Best Western and now a La Quinta. It is freshly painted and very clean...but still old style.
This is a good place for families with children. They have a large, nice pool in the center courtyard with a hot tub. During the day, the pool is filled with laughing, screaming children so if you have a pool facing room, it will be noisy during the daylight hours. We are not usually in our room during the day so that wasn't a problem for us.
The location is convenient to everything. Sanibel is just over the causeway, Ft. Myers Beach is nearby, and the museums in Ft Myers are not too far away. There is a Publix supermarket in the same shopping plaza as the hotel and the Tangier Outlet Mall is across the street if you like to shop.
There is a small coffee maker, a tiny microwave and a compact refrigerator in the room which is very convenient.
Breakfast is pretty sparse; almost continental. There are waffles, cereal, bagels, yogurt, a few pastries, juice and coffee. It is not a feast but enough to get you started. The breakfast area is small but there is a large screened area with ceiling fans attached (between the breakfast room and the pool) which is much roomier.
There is a very small fitness room off the lobby.
The desk staff is very friendly and accomodating.
The wifi access is quick and easy. The response time is very good, which is important to me.
Overall, it is old but clean and comfortable; a real steal for the price!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet room, ask for one not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank circa1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were going for a long day trip which included our dog and on a whim found this great location that was indeed pet friendly (15 lbs.) and without a pet fee! The rooms had updated decor, very clean and comfortable which made our stay perfect. There was a complimentary breakfast, which was a nice start to the day. The pool and hot tub were very clean and large. The employs were very accommodating and check out was seamless. I would recommend this to couples, families and someone traveling on business. Did I say this is only minutes from Sanibel and Captiva and Ft. Meyers Beach? There is also a small outlet center if you happened to forget anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Came with grandkids. Great location for access to Sanibel & Ft Myers Beach areas. Nice property, great pool, nice to have small refrigerator & microwave in the room. Would have liked a little more brkfst room - crowded. Missed having a business center. Good value for post season.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. The price was great, the room was spacious and really clean. Beds were comfy. No complaints about this place. The pool seemed clean and not overly chlorinated. And it was really big with lots of seating around the pool area. We were woken up one night by a visitor in our room...but it turned out to be a frog! That was funny. He must have come in when the door was open at some point. This is not a knock on the hotel at all, just a funny story! The breakfast was ok. It had enough stuff, good variety. The location wasn't great. Not really near anything, but that also made it quiet. It was nicely located to the toll bridge to Sanibel Island.

Room Tip: I think there may have been some rooms that looked onto the parking lot. Ours looked out onto the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmommy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Myers
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Myers
#22 of 59 in Fort Myers
400 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway

Address: 20091 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range: $85 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway offers spacious rooms, quality accommodations, and friendly service all in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. We are located minutes from the beaches of Ft Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva Island. There are lots of activities to kee...see morep you busy here, from deep sea fishing charters to boat rentals, many of your favorite water activities are within easy reach. There's plenty of shopping nearby for those moments you're away from the beach. Head on back to The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway and take a dip in our olympic-size heated outdoor pool, relax in the outdoor whirlpool, pump it up in our new fitness center; or how about a game of ping pong. Enjoy a spacious guest room with free high-speed Internet access, mini kitchen, micro refrigerator, and free cable TV. Enjoy our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning featuring make-your-own waffles and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Ft. Myers Hotel Fort Myers
La Quinta Ft Myers
La Quinta Fort Myers
Fort Myers La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing