We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Myers Airport(Fort Myers)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75(Fort Myers)(Great Value!)
$69
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$76
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rock Lake Resort(Fort Myers)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveler rating
389
447
249
131
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
447
249
131
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffleslarge poolbunche beachhot tubcircle kgreat pooloutlet mallhard boiled eggspool areagas stationfree breakfastthe breakfast areafresh fruitkey westnice breakfastshort driveclean rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a motel style hotel (in other words the room access is from the outside) - which gives additional opportunity for bugs in the rooms -- which we dealt with our entire stay.
We had one day that house keeping didn't even clean our room (nor the rooms next to ours - I heard them complaining too) - when we complained to the desk, they were very apathetic about the issue.
The location of the hotel is great - with easy access to both Sanibel Island and Fort Myers Beach (although during peak vacation time, getting to Fort Myers Beach you will fight a lot of traffic).
They have a great pool area too.
The continental breakfast is pretty minimal - DIY waffles, cold cereal, hot instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, fruit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krtpmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the La Quinta Sanibel Gateway for four nights last week. The rooms were nice, bed very comfortable, very good location, and a wonderful pool. Breakfast could have been a little better but as it was complimentary it was fine. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

liked location but we stayed 3 nights and did not get room checked not once we used same towles and wash clothes ,no clean sheets,and we took our trash out other than that it was ok but we are going back to florida soon but we will stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed 7 nights while on business in Ft. Myers. This is an older property, but it was well kept and very comfortable. Our room was cleaned everyday while we were out. The breakfast was very adequate, with fresh local citrus served daily. It's in a convenient location to Sanibel, Captiva and Ft. Myers Beach as well as close enough to downtown, but off the beaten path a little. I had a slight issue with the layout of the shower...no flat places to put soap or shampoo, but other than that, we were very happy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights because we made travel plans at the last minute and hotels on the beach were booked. We have stayed at La Qunita in other areas and had a good experience. Not so at this one. First the good - it is close to both Sanibel and Ft. Myers Beach. That is all.

This is an old motel, rooms facing the parking lot, one elevator for a 3 story building. The rooms are worn and need major renovation. The only nice feature is the ability to drive somewhere else quickly. Our room had several holes in the ceiling and walls that had been poorly patched. The bathroom is worse, broken fixtures, noisy plumbing.

There is no service. They apparently only clean the rooms when someone checks out. We only had housekeeping come in the room one day out of three. They come by at 4 pm and give you some towels, that is it. You can hear everything going on in the adjoining rooms. We got up early and went to the beach every day so we only had to regret the accommodations when we came back at night.

There is no business center so if you need to use a computer to check email or print boarding passes you are out of luck. I can't remember staying at a place that didn't have this available.

The breakfast area is setup as a bar but there isn't any service for it. I guess at one time they served drinks at the bar but no longer. The breakfast offering is typical for interstate motels and the one time we sat in it to eat they were out of most items at 8 am. We had to ask them to restock which they did. The coffee is served in an old coffee machine that looks like it is leftover from the 60s. It tasted like instant coffee mixed with hot water.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mgreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews