We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and nice pool but poor room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Lille, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Large and nice pool but poor room”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night.

The hotel is on the road to Sanibel island.

We were disappointed by the room, it was quite small and the furniture and carpet was old. But the most disturbing thing was the very bad smell in the room : a mix of smoke and mold. I guess the smell came from the old carpet (which seemed dirty) or/and the air conditionner. Thankfully we got used to the smell once inside and forgot about it.

The good point of this hotel is definitely the pool which is very large and it even includes a spa.
Also, you have a typical complimentary breakfast that you can enjoy outside.

Overall, the stay was not so bad, but If I were to come back, I would probably look for another hotel. I would recommend this hotel only for the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nummy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    435
    239
    124
    83
See reviews for
455
457
95
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I choose to stay at La Quinta because of the price and it's location. Very close to the Tanger Outlet, the Sanibel Island and also Fort Myers Beach. Room was comfy and very clean. The hotel provides even a nice breakfast, large pool, guest laundry and a little gym. Staff at the front desk is very friendly and supportive.

Room Tip: Higher floor and not pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikkaSwissCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Nice, clean, close to Sanibel. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the ot tub in the evening. Our rooms facing the pool were very quiet, clean and spacious. Perfect customer service at the reception. We will be back.

Room Tip: Pick a room as far as possible from stairs and elevator so you will not have bad mannered children r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you are looking to stay close to Sanibel Island for a really good price, that's the way. Excellent Hotel, the rooms was big, super clean, good service, comfy bed and have breakfast included for a cheap price. The pool area were nice and clean, friendly staff and the only thing is you have to go early to take a breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms are big and comfy, smell clean. Rooms fair of the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We choose to stay at La Quinta because it's location was close to Sanibel Causeway & Ft Meyers Beach. Staying on Sanibel is quite pricey & we just needed a clean, comfy room to shower & sleep in because our plan was to be on the beach not the room. Although La Quinta is not a resort, our room was super clean & the beds were super comfy with lots of pillows - as good as any resort on Sanibel. The pool & jaccuzzi area were wonderful - nice & clean too. The staff was super friendly & accommodated our request for an early check-in as our room had been readied. I used my AAA discount also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntKaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great staff all the way around (especially Tina-she definitely deserves a raise if she's not able to own the hotel. Definitely not a bad location for Myrtle Beach. Not only were we here for vacation but were also house hunting. Tina was "terrifically great" for this b/c she was extremely knowledgeable in helping my SO "geographical wise." She took time to explain the Ft Myers area to us w/ no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank RastaMan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
7.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
11.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Address: 20091 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway offers spacious rooms, quality accommodations, and friendly service all in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. We are located minutes from the beaches of Ft Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva Island. There are lots of activities to kee...see morep you busy here, from deep sea fishing charters to boat rentals, many of your favorite water activities are within easy reach. There's plenty of shopping nearby for those moments you're away from the beach. Head on back to The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway and take a dip in our olympic-size heated outdoor pool, relax in the outdoor whirlpool, pump it up in our new fitness center; or how about a game of ping pong. Enjoy a spacious guest room with free high-speed Internet access, mini kitchen, micro refrigerator, and free cable TV. Enjoy our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning featuring make-your-own waffles and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Ft. Myers Hotel Fort Myers
La Quinta Ft Myers
La Quinta Fort Myers
Fort Myers La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing