We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Then Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Hatfield, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better Then Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

I booked with Hotwire for $49. After reading the posts here I was nervous but let me tell you these people that come here and complain are just miserable people. They want the Four Seasons for ten cents. Keep in mind I paid half of what many do with Hotwire but it was worth more then $49 per night. Pool was great. Full breakfast was great. Diane in the breakfast area is a saint and made me want to return just by her being so nice to everyone. Rooms are great. Beds are great - I am 279lbs and need a good bed and these beds were so good I didn’t want to get out. If I was to offer one point it would be to ask for a room on the inside of the complex rather on the outside facing traffic.
Thanks and be confident with this place!

  • Liked — Pool and room.
  • Disliked — Outside room facing traffic.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    428
    233
    116
    80
See reviews for
445
441
93
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

We booked this hotel through Hotwire for a good rate and were SO Pleased!!!!!

Our room was nice and spacious with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker... The rooms were completely renovated and very clean. The continental breakfast was great!

The room was ALSO Quiet, which we loved... We could hear a little traffic outside the room, but overall, it was very peaceful!

My favorite thing about this hotel are the Pool and Hot Tub!!! The Pool was HUGE and warm - 83 degrees, and the HOT TUB was the perfect temperature and very relaxing... We absolutely LOVED it!!!! FYI - The pool is the largest hotel pool in Fort Myers... It was fun doing laps in the morning...

The Hotel is also less than a mile from a nice Public Beach... This beach is MUCH QUIETER than Fort Myers beach, and we enjoyed it more!!!! It's on the street right next to the Hotel and Party store / Gas Station...

The only negative was the little refrigerator... You could hear it running continuously... The maid also forgot to give us more toilet paper, but that's ok... We went to the Front Desk for more...

I'd have to say that I enjoyed this Hotel EVEN MORE than staying at Fort Myers Beach, where the hotels are much more expensive...

La Quinta was quiet, the continental breakfast was great, and the Pool and Hot Tub were amazing!!! We will definitely try to stay here again on Future Visits!!!

FYI - The Hotel is MUCH NICER than the 3 1/2 star TripAdvisor Rating.... Most of the reviews were BEFORE the renovation took place... With the renovation, it should be 4 or 4 1/2 stars... Even my Boyfriend, who is extremely hard to please loved it!

  • Liked — I loved that it was QUIET, had a free continental breakfast and a wonderful pool and hot tub!
  • Disliked — The refrigerator buzzed continuously... No big deal though! We loved it here!!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abondgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
236 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

We were traveling with our dog to Sanibel Island but upon late arrival at the hotel we found bugs in the room so we left immediately. We needed a room at 11:30pm, remembering that all La Quinta's are pet friendly and that there is one near the bridge to the island, I called and asked if a room was available. I thought since we had a pet they would put us in a non-renovatated or somewhat less nice room. Wrong! They had a room for us and our dog, it was totally renovated and CLEAN. Everything was new and it smelled clean and fresh. Great price and great stay. THANK YOU La Quinta, you were the only good part of our weekend.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Cleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

This hotel is pretty decent for the price. we got it really cheap thru priceline and it far exceeded our expectations. Part of the hotel is under renovation but the section we stayed was complete and everything was brand spanking new.

The staff was helpful and courteous. the rooms clean and well kept. The pool and hot tub very nice. No parking fees.

It is about 4-5 miles from the beaches of Sanibel Island so not too far at all. One word of warning though, the Causeway to cross into Sanibel island has a $6 toll to go in. its not a daily toll so if u plan on doing a lot of back and forth then you might be better off staying on the island itself.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vvj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebring fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2007

nice place! My husband and I stayed at the la quinta to be close to both beaches for fishing. It was centrally located between fort myers beach and sanibel. We enjoyed the clean room and large, warm, pool. We would gladly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank tiffany6803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

We arrived late afternoon with reservations. Paid high price for room overlooking nowhere. Fridge did not work but was replaced by happy and energetic maintenance man. On turning down covers the top sheet looked like it had been in traffic.New sheets delivered by..maintenance man. We made up the bed.Noisy neighbours at 3am called to find out only desk clerk on site. She did eventually get the partiers inside and quiet but we were affraid for her well being. Finally guess who was replentishing the breakfast buffet? Yup, the happy maintenance man.
The pool and it's surroundings were pristine. I think some of our problems could have been avoided if there were more staff .
Hotels.com did refund us a portion of our cost :-) but the experience left us with a dislike for LaQuitas :-(

  • Liked — Pool and pool area
  • Disliked — Dirty sheets and NO security at 3AM to deal with rowdy young adults
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daffyaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

We originally booked a stay for 4 nights, but our plans changed so I called their 800 number to adjust the reservation. The CSR was unable to change it, for whatever reason, and said she had to cancel the original and start over. This turned into an ordeal because she then wasn't able to give me the same rate as we had for the original reservation but assure me that if I explained the situation once we got to the hotel, they'd honor the original rate. Of course, this didn't happen and the woman at the desk refused to give me the first rate. It was only a $10 difference but the point was that I wanted the exact same reservation, just 2 nights shorter. We didn't have much time to go and look for another hotel so we sucked it up and stayed.
The room itself was on the run down side and the bathroom could have used a new coat of paint. What really got to us was the carpet, which had quite a few stains and didn't seem clean... we didn't take our shoes off during the stay.
The motel (it is a "motel", not a "hotel")overall was ok, the pool area is great and they offer a happy hour in the afternoon with good deals. The staff overall, other than the woman at the front desk, were very friendly and attentive. I don't regret having stayed there, but I would probably think twice about staying again.

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — dirty carpets
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeepers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
13.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
11.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Address: 20091 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway offers spacious rooms, quality accommodations, and friendly service all in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. We are located minutes from the beaches of Ft Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva Island. There are lots of activities to kee...see morep you busy here, from deep sea fishing charters to boat rentals, many of your favorite water activities are within easy reach. There's plenty of shopping nearby for those moments you're away from the beach. Head on back to The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway and take a dip in our olympic-size heated outdoor pool, relax in the outdoor whirlpool, pump it up in our new fitness center; or how about a game of ping pong. Enjoy a spacious guest room with free high-speed Internet access, mini kitchen, micro refrigerator, and free cable TV. Enjoy our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning featuring make-your-own waffles and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Ft. Myers Hotel Fort Myers
La Quinta Ft Myers
La Quinta Fort Myers
Fort Myers La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing