We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    90
    91
    100
    159
See reviews for
161
124
75
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was my first stay here. I found the room to be clean and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. I found that the microwave in my room was not working and upon calling the front desk, had a new one installed in short order. A comfortable bed with plenty of fluffy pillows and a spotless bathroom with good towels contributed to my pleasant stay. Contrary to other reports, I did not see even one bug of any kind in my room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, Marketing Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I am glad it was pleasant for you and the staff met all your needs. We do hope you will return again and give us the opportunity to make your next stay enjoyable as well.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was probably the worst room I ever had in my life. I paid but did not stay because it was just impossible. It smelt like someone peed on the wall, dirty carpet and walls, hair in the bed and bath, dirty toulets, noisy airco, no babybed while it was booked, rude staff. Do not stay here!!

Helpful?
Thank MickCornez
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
judycoleman1, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at our hotel. Had you brought your concerns to the front desk staff we could have moved you to a different room. Your other concerns will be addressed with the appropriate staff. I apologize that you did not receive the baby bed you ordered I am sure it was an oversight on our part. I also apologize for you thinking our staff was rude to you that is not the impression the owner of the hotel wants to give our guest. We do appreciate your business and your comments and do hope you will give us another chance to make your next visit a more enjoyable one.

Respectfully,
Howard Johnson Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked this place for 2 nights and was put in a room that had roaches in it! I took a dead bug to the offce and was told it did not come from their room! After a short walk we were moved to the room right next to the one with bugs!

Guess what?? that room had bugs too! So the next day I called Hotel.com and was moved to another hotel! The guy in the office told hotels.com that the roaches where from my dog! REALLY!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedwardcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, Marketing Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay, however we do make all attempts to make sure all rooms are clean and free of insects. Unfortunately in Florida that is quite a challenge but every attempt is made. We do hope in the future you will give us another try to make your stay a more pleasant one.

Respectfully,
Howard Johnson Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers hotels
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Fort Myers
Super 8 Fort Myers
#47 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort Myers
Travelodge Fort Myers
#48 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#28 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Fort Myers Airport
Travelodge Fort Myers Airport
#45 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL
Address: 4811 S Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33907-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fort Myers Hotel Fort Myers
Howard Johnson Fort Myers
Fort Myers Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing