We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay and hosts - a TRUE b&b!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Fort Myers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay and hosts - a TRUE b&b!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent a weekend in February at the Hibiscus Inn and it was such a joy! We booked two rooms, one on the first floor and one on the second. The first floor had a gorgeous jacuzzi, an extremely comfortable bed and all of the luxuries you could ask for. The second room overlooked the outside garden and had a small porch where you could sit. The showers were some of the best I ever had (it flowed in 2 directions - top and side!) This isn't a bed and breakfast that says it comes with a nice breakfast and all you get is a bagel and creamcheese that's been sitting out. This was a full sit-down experience with yogurt, granola, fruit, orange juice, pancakes, and candied bacon one day, and blintzes the next! The hosts are a lovely couple who were very sweet and attentive when necessary. It was a pleasure getting to know them and the other couple at the b&b while enjoying such a comfortable and pleasurable stay! I would definitely go back and high recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband I just returned from a two night stay at the Hibiscus House where we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves despite our short time there. We stayed in the orchid room located on the 2nd floor with its own private entrance and small balcony set amidst the tree tops. This room - and all rooms - are beautifully decorated and appointed with with soft linens, fluffy pillows, and updated luxurious bathrooms with the neatest sliding frameless glass doors!! Also, the bed and breakfast is located within walking distance from downtown Ft. Meyers - where my husband and I dined at the Veranda and the Firestone. Each meal and atmosphere was great.

Pam and Dave are the nicest people - truly. Not only are the accommodating and knowledgable about the area, and great hosts, but they are so warm and easy to converse with. My husband and I felt as if we had known them for a lifetime. And truly we were sad to say goodbye to them at the end of our stay. The thought of returning someday in the near future made it a tiny bit easier to part ways. Our last morning there, we had to leave in the morning for an early flight - Pam and Dave woke with us at 530 and made sure their amazing coffee was ready with a lovely light breakfast. The early one on one time we had with them was filled with some great laughs we will treasure for a lifetime.

If you are looking for a wonderful home away from home - Hibiscus House is your getaway. Can't wait to return and visit with our friends Pam and Dave again.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbij6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Recently we enjoyed three nights in this beautiful bed and breakfast located in a convenient spot in Ft, Myers. From the house, we could have walked to the Edison-Ford Estates; however, we chose to take the free trolley that stopped across the street! We also used this trolley to give us a closer look at downtown Ft. Myers. Sanibel Island is a short drive from the house as well as the airport.

David and Pam could not have been any better hosts! Our friends loved their stay in the upstairs suite, the Orchid Room, and my husband and I enjoyed the Bougainvillea Room, located on the first floor. The luxurious bedding and the updated bathrooms welcomed us after long days of touring. Plus, David's breakfasts are scrumptious! As previous visitors have noted, the warm, thoughtful touches also made our stay more pleasant....the petit fours, the snacks, the bottled water, etc. Perhaps, though, it was David and Pam whose welcoming words and helpful advice made our bed and breakfast stay a beautiful one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDarlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberwart
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just came back from our 3 nights-stay at the Hibiscus House. We had the Orchid Room on the first floor with private entrance. The room and the bathrom are very nicely decorated and everything was very clean. On Valentine's Day David and Pam surprised us with some Petit Fours in our room, they were delicious. The breakfast every morning was great, too. Opposite the house there is a Publix and it is only about a 10 minute-walk away from the historic center where you can find lots of restaurants. Also very close is the Edison/Ford home. We can highly recommend this place and would love to come again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hibiscus House earns kudos as a genuine bed and breakfast- super comfortable beds in a modern suite with updated bathroom facilities and sumptuous breakfasts prepared by David from his favorite recipes in the Williams-Sonoma recipe book. Pam left delightful snacks in the room as well if you needed to nibble on a late night snack.
David and Pam are wonderful conversationalists who meld in comfortably with the interesting guests we broke bread with. Thanks for sharing the history of the Hibiscus House with us- quite fascinating. And their recommendations for nearby restaurants and activities were spot on. Really enjoyed an excellent dinner at the Morgan House in the town center.
The historic Edison-Ford estate is a ten minute walk down McGregor, an avenue lined with impressive royal palms donated to the city by the oil baron himself. My wife and I spent an afternoon a on a guuided tour of the estate which is rich in history and local folklore. Vintage Fords are garaged on the site and the prodigious banyan trees Edison experimented with are lovingly maintained by estate personnel.
Thank you, David and Pam, for a memorable visit. You are among the finest hoteliers we have spent time with.
Stay well- Bob and Lilly

Room Tip: If you are older, you might be wise to choose a room on the first floor. My wife and I are over 70...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBobAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Hibiscus house for Valentines day and we loved it! The accommodations were extremely clean. The breakfast was delicious. The owners were so hospitable, kind, and helpful. The room was decorated beautifully! I highly recommend the Hibiscus House. David and Pam did a wonderful job with all the renovations. It is also located in a great area close to many restaurants and shops. We can't wait to come back!
~Jeff and Cristina

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Thank you, David, for your hospitality and the time we had with you. We know you are new at this, but it did not seem so at all. The story of how the house got to it's current location was very interesting. And thank you for showing us the other rooms - under construction and finished. The finished ones are beautiful... and those big TVs and showers... we want a new bathroom (or 3) now! We know the under construction rooms will be just as amazing when complete. We don't know how you do all the work without your wife, but we are please to hear its only a matter of days now. For those traveling: This is an ALL KING bed and breakfast with huge HD TVs in the rooms, and bathrooms! They all have amazing new bathrooms and big filling breakfast in the morning. The street sounds loud but the streets roll-up at night with hardly a car going by. There is a Publix across the street and a trolley to take you the 10 blocks to down-town Ft Myers (Really nice with restaurants, bars, shops, art,...) and the Edison Estate is just blocks away. Ideal location for any event.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnOnCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
13.7 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#27 of 59 in Fort Myers
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area
13.7 mi away
Mango Street Inn
Mango Street Inn
#1 of 7 in Fort Myers Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2135 McGregor Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33901-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing