We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ECOtour!”

Captain Bob's Excellent Adventure
Ranked #27 of 59 Tours in Fort Myers
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a thrilling ride on an airboat in the Western Everglades where there are more alligators per acre than anywhere in the world! Enjoy an interactive reptile presentation with alligators and snakes. Transportation provided.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
New Glarus, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ECOtour!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What sets this tour apart from the rest is that its and ecotour... not just an airboat ride. If you want to see wildlife in its natural habitat this is the tour to be on. The airboat ride takes you everywhere from open water to highly secluded spots in the everglades. You are no doubt sure to see a variety of birds, lots of alligators and maybe... just maybe cattle roaming in the swamps!!! Tour guide (Adam) and our airboat guide (Captain Fred) were HIGHLY knowledgable about all the wildlife you see. Adam did a great job explaining history of the everglades, tribes, roads, oranges, trees, elevation changes... you name it!!! I would say that he is your own personal "Google Guide" because he knows sooooo much! Very pleased with this tour and would recommend it to anyone who wants to get into the heart of the everglades. Cost was very reasonable for how much information you receive and the wildlife you get to view and even handle at the end of the airboat tour! Half day was a prefect amount of time to be out on a tour. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Captain Bob's Excellent Adventure”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great time on our airboat ride in the Florida everglades! Saw so much wildlife and different plants and birds. On the way, our tour guide, Adam, told us about so many interesting things about wildlife, plants, the environment, etc.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Full Day ... You will be tired at the end!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our day started at 8 and we returned at 5:30. It was a full day of learning the fun way ... hands on! Our guide, Adam, was very knowledgeable and what he didn't know he would tell you and then make something up that sounded good! HA! Very personable and likable, even when he began to preach conservation instead of just talking about it. Very passionate about what he does. He also was able to spot birds and animals at a distance. He was a great guide/van driver. I would recommend requesting him.

The food at the Fish Depot, where you stop for lunch, is very good, especially on Tuesdays when they have Taco Tuesdays and fresh shrimp on the salad bar.

The airboat ride was not up to what I am used to in the glades, but still enjoyable and we say a lot of gators. We had one about 10 feet thump the bottom of our boat, which got the heart pumping. We even saw a dead gator being eaten by several other gators. Neat to see nature in action.

The 90 minute boat ride in Ten Thousand Island Park was fun, relaxing, and we were fortunate enough to see lots of dolphin, plus a couple osprey and a raccoon running across one of the island points.

In all we saw 20 plus birds, some very rare for the area, a black racer snake, literally tons of alligators, turtles, 2 raccoons, and more. In spite of the heat, we had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank aspeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSGator, Manager at Captain Bob's Excellent Adventure, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. (Technically this review is for the Everglades Day Safari but both tours are owned by the same person). Adam does a great job on the day safari and clearly enjoys his job as much as people enjoy his tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Way to Experience the Everglades”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked this excursion online with a little hesitation as I didn't find many reviews from previous participants. We are glad we went! Jungle Pete, who drove the bus and gave us the Eco talk was extremely knowledgeable and he had keen vision and on the trip to the Everglades he managed to spot a couple very rare species of birds which he pointed out. He was informative and entertaining. The airboat ride with Captain Bob was great. We saw a lot of wildlife and of course Aligators! This tour was well worth the money!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ML&Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conowingo, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
“First time airboat ride”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

In spite of some rain, we had a great time. Captain Bob is very entertaining and extremely knowledgeable about the area we toured as well as being aware of upcoming projects to protect the environment. I would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Bob's Excellent Adventure also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captain Bob's Excellent Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing