We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful area to view SWFL”

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$158.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip from Greater Fort Myers/Naples...
Ranked #2 of 112 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful area to view SWFL”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

A great place to hike and view a true glimps of SWFL wildlife. Many species of birds call the slough home so great for bird watchers. For reptile lovers there are tons of lizards, water turtles, alligators, and the occasional gopher tortoise. We have also seen otters, squirrels, and other wildlife. Beautiful in the morning! Great boardwalks and covered areas to sit and take in nature.

Helpful?
Thank Christina098123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    395
    73
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nature at it's best”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a wonderful place to spend time during the day. This beautiful nature center has extensive board walks so strollers and wheel chairs can easily navigate the entire slough (pronounced slew). There are places to rest and relax, just enjoying the natural habitat & to see some unusual birds. It was relaxing, serene, and beautiful. Can't say enough about it's beauty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BethofFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nature closeup”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A quiet hour spent with grandsons spotting wildlife. Others on the boardwalk were able to point out snakes and birds that were not easy to spot at first. Managed also to see the wild pigs as they came running through the muddy areas. All this kept the boys engaged and they were very excited to see the wildlife here in the peaceful setting of Florida in it's natural setting. Great for families of all ages. The only fee is for parking which is really reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ValerieNosara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sometimes you see them and most of the time you don't.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

An idyllic 2.1mile walk on an elevated boardwalk that takes visitors to several viewpoints where they might be able to see some of the local fora and fauna. It's part of the Lee county park system. Pay to park. Free admission.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank firemandave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the Time”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Six Mile Cypress Slough is perfect for anyone wanting to see Florida wetlands in an almost natural state. It pays to arrive very early because wildlife is more visible just after dawn. The whole park is accessed by way of an excellent boardwalk that loops around to every area. There are many shady places to sit quietly and let birds and other creatures come to you. Benches are available at intervals between roofed observation platforms which overlook ponds and small lakes. The whole park can be enjoyed by the out-of-shape visiter as well as anyone using a wheelchair.
On my visit I found some butterflies, two alligators, and a black-crowned night heron quite near where I stood. Other wading birds were too far away to see very well. the black-crowned night heron seemed to know I couldn't reach him from the boardwalk and stayed at least half an hour, feeding in the shallow water.
I did not see any bears, otters, wild pigs or deer although other family members tell me that they have seen them at the park. I got a few bug bites, but not many, and I was not wearing repellant.
For plant fanciers, the trees are full of bromeliads. I think I saw some orchids but I could not be sure because they were not in bloom. Aquatic plants are abundant. Some were flowering.
Most of the cypress trees were young and slender but gave wonderful shade. Their feathery leaves made the bright light soft.
I do not advise visiting on a weekend. Noisy children and throngs of adults scare off the wildlife. The shop is closed Mondays but water fountains and clean restrooms are available at all times. I plan to return early with my camera. It is getting pretty hot here in Florida but I am ready for at least one more trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing