We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to visit. Put this on your list of places to see.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$158.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip from Greater Fort Myers/Naples...
Ranked #3 of 111 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit. Put this on your list of places to see.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited this place and really enjoyed the walk through the winding boardwalk throughout the preserve. Got to see alligators and countless snakes, birds, turtles and other wildlife. Can't beat the price either. $1.00 for parking and that was it!! I recommend trying this place out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    380
    73
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We parked our car and put money in the machine but it seems to be an honour system as we never saw a ranger or any park official the whole time we were there. The boardwalk is a mile long and is well maintained and clean unlike some we have tried. Walk slowly and softly and keep your voice down and you will be rewarded by the wild life you will see. Take bottled water with you and apply insect repellent before you start. Everywhere you look you will find things to interest and the whole park is a haven of peace and tranquillity. A small bird guide book and a pair of binoculars will add to your enjoyment of the park. There are several different ecosystems brimming with flora and fauna .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank COUNCILLORJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to enjoy nature for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tired of the endless strip malls? Then this is just the place for you... You'll spot for sure fish, turtles, birds of all sizes and most likely at least an alligator. It is fun to walk on the boardwalk, mostly in the shade of trees and when you teach your kids to listen to the silence, you'll hear nature talk (and traffic noise in the distance!). Vegetation is with mentioning as we'll. You'll have to see for yourselves, go there

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Romy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good for a bit of time out in nature...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had abit of time to pass so walked through this area. I enjoyed the lifted walkways and the decks around watering holes / ponds. We saw some animals - cranes, birds, squirrels, fish and even some wild boars. The boars seemed totally disinterested / unphased with us being there - probably just desensitized with some many travellers. The boardwalks pass through a number of smaller eco-systems and give you a good perspective of what is in the bush there. Bugs were not bad when we went through (April) but expect will be later on in the season. Overall it was good for a visit and something different.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranger-Reeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Lee County eco tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Walk entirely on a raised boardwak over wetlands with mangroves, magnificant cypress and other tropical plants. Very shady so it is pleasant even on hot summer days. Pond overlooks with very interesting wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HHS477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing