We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a bit of time out in nature...”

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$158.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip from Greater Fort Myers/Naples...
Ranked #2 of 113 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good for a bit of time out in nature...”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had abit of time to pass so walked through this area. I enjoyed the lifted walkways and the decks around watering holes / ponds. We saw some animals - cranes, birds, squirrels, fish and even some wild boars. The boars seemed totally disinterested / unphased with us being there - probably just desensitized with some many travellers. The boardwalks pass through a number of smaller eco-systems and give you a good perspective of what is in the bush there. Bugs were not bad when we went through (April) but expect will be later on in the season. Overall it was good for a visit and something different.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranger-Reeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    402
    73
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Lee County eco tour”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Walk entirely on a raised boardwak over wetlands with mangroves, magnificant cypress and other tropical plants. Very shady so it is pleasant even on hot summer days. Pond overlooks with very interesting wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HHS477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not just a park”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This park is not just your average park. The walk on the decks is teriffic. So much to see and so well maintained. Inside is just wonderful. So much great information on the park and the surrounding area. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank boatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

It was a nice nature walk. I really enjoyed it. Did see a small gator which was the reason I went to Florida. Can't wait to go back

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Saw small gators, wonder where the big ones where.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We took the Wednesday morning guided walk with Jamie who knew her stuff and was passionate about the reserve and so full of information. Well worth the visit, we spent a lovely couple of hours in this peaceful spot. I would love to return another time and see how the area is affected by the seasons but we live 3000 miles away, if you live closer give this place a visit.

Entry free, car par $1 per hour. Recommend 2 hours for the tour and longer if you are on your own and can take it at your own leisurely pace.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharpe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing