We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Walk to View A Variety of Wild Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
Book In Advance
$159*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip from Greater Fort Myers/Naples...
Ranked #2 of 106 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cicero, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easy Walk to View A Variety of Wild Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This park has a board walk that takes you around the park in a logical way to view a variety of wild life and beautiful native plants and trees. The brochure provided on the trail is informative. Take your time, and look all around - you are well above the "wild life" below and around you. There were several opportunities to see gators safely, as well as beautiful and varied birds. There is a wonderful visitor center, and convenient rest rooms. Bug spray is helpful if it is humid, and a bottle of water is all you need to enjoy the easy board walk trail.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OneidaLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    322
    66
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice boardwalk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice stroll through the swamp on elevated boardwalk, even though you can hear traffic noise. We went mid afternoon though and didn't see many animals, probably better early morning for sightings.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring grove, il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time - Lots of wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Such a wonderful visit here! We saw gators up close, turtles, fish and lots of interesting birds. It is a really beautiful peaceful place. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Shell3illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Nature Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is our first winter in South West Florida and although I said I visited in March of 2013 this was only one of several visits we made this winter. It is very inexpensive, a parking fee of $1 per hour is the only charge. The board walk makes it, not only wheelchair accessible it also makes it very easy walking and the hand rail makes it quite safe for children. We have toured the boardwalk during school visits and although the children are a little noisy we find it as much fun to watch the children making their discoveries as it is for us to spot the wild life. It seems each time we go we see some thing different, and watching the birds returning in the evening to roost is phenomenal. Although we checked it was a family visit it was just my wife and I but we shared the boardwalk with many families and again, we enjoy watching the children enjoying themselves.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really nice boardwalk trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I really enjoyed this walk, lots of birds, and wildlife. I saw a few gators , big otters, turtles. It's well worth the stop. Make sure you have your camera.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pattyj013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing