We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great wildlife preserve” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
Book In Advance
$158.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip from Greater Fort Myers/Naples...
Ranked #3 of 109 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great wildlife preserve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited December 28th as it was not a beach weather type of day. The only cost is to park and that is a reasonable $1.00 per hour.
The boardwalk is well maintained as are the look out points. We saw a baby alligator sitting by the water and other folks mentioned there was another one there too, but I could not see it from where I was standing. Lots of different birds, including a woodpecker that you could hear better than see without the aid if binoculars.
Our visit was cut short due to rain, but my husband had visited in October and saw wild black pigs, turtles and a large adult alligator.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NLO888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    344
    69
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, On
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Six Mile Cypress in December”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Didn't see a lot of wildlife, but that's luck of the draw - appearances aren't scheduled or guaranteed! Boardwalk is well-maintained and a pleasant walk in any case. I didn't check out the interpretive centre but I heard it was nice. We took about 2 hours to walk the long trail and enjoyed it very much. Would definitely check it out again if we are in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank plumloco04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Forget Zoos go to this Preserve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been here with our three Kids mid december. It was one of the nicest experiences we had. We spotted a lot of wildlife e.g. Eagles, Alligators, Snakes (Cottonmouth), Turtles, Heron, Squirrels, Fish, Anhingas. It was an amazing afternoon. we really recommend this place. The best: no entrance fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Catman1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to see nature.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Don't go on a super hot day but the trails are great. We saw lots of wildlife, mostly birds, and came close and personal with the cypress swamp.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtviewin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for anyone: handicapped, elderly, families with small children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

1.25 mi or 2 mile boardwalk tour through cypress swamp. We took over 3 hours to do the 2 miles. Lots to see, no hurrying necessary. Have the kids use restrooms (located just before you get on the boardwalk) before you start out, as no facilities once you leave the parking lot. You can still hear some traffic noise, but it's still a peaceful walk. Saw alligators (big and small), numerous turtles, lots of birds, sleeping cottonmouth, squirrels. Possibilities of seeing otters, but we weren't that lucky.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyJetttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing