We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget Zoos go to this Preserve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
Book In Advance
$158.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip from Greater Fort Myers/Naples...
Ranked #3 of 109 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hannover
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Forget Zoos go to this Preserve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been here with our three Kids mid december. It was one of the nicest experiences we had. We spotted a lot of wildlife e.g. Eagles, Alligators, Snakes (Cottonmouth), Turtles, Heron, Squirrels, Fish, Anhingas. It was an amazing afternoon. we really recommend this place. The best: no entrance fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Catman1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    344
    69
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to see nature.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Don't go on a super hot day but the trails are great. We saw lots of wildlife, mostly birds, and came close and personal with the cypress swamp.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtviewin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for anyone: handicapped, elderly, families with small children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

1.25 mi or 2 mile boardwalk tour through cypress swamp. We took over 3 hours to do the 2 miles. Lots to see, no hurrying necessary. Have the kids use restrooms (located just before you get on the boardwalk) before you start out, as no facilities once you leave the parking lot. You can still hear some traffic noise, but it's still a peaceful walk. Saw alligators (big and small), numerous turtles, lots of birds, sleeping cottonmouth, squirrels. Possibilities of seeing otters, but we weren't that lucky.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyJetttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
1 review
“cool experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

great nature and good place to get away! Good place to come with another, self or the kids. South west florida.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful boardwalk through amazing tropical wilderness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Ever wonder what SW Florida was like when the Caloosa Indians lived here? Take some time this holiday season to walk through the Six Mile Cypress Slough.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing