We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Nature Boardwalk”

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$158.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip from Greater Fort Myers/Naples...
Ranked #2 of 112 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Nature Boardwalk”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a great place for a picnic (the squirrels will accompany you - they are plentiful). The boardwalk through the slough is awesome and amazing. We went during a cloudy and rainy time of the day so we didn't get to see much wildlife - so would suggest going when the sun is out so you'll see the critters come out and sun themselves. If you enjoy taking pictures, you'll have some great ops for some great pics.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim-TheWick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    395
    73
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a wildlife oasis amidst the concrete”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

featuring a winding scenic boardwalk with plenty of native birds along the way
observation areas, benches and lots of photo opportunities, along the way

Helpful?
Thank sara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What Florida used to look like”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are not a great beach and sun lover but love to be outdoors and want to see real Florida wetlands, take a walk through the slough. It has its own beauty and varies greatly from wet to dry season.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScoutsMom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Nice Day Out”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We took our cousins, who were visiting from NY, to the Slough. They are very big on nature and this was also our first time. We had a lot of fun and really enjoyed being out. Saw lots of birds and a baby alligator. Would definitely recommend this.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PorscheLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we tried to go on 4th of July and the nature center was closed. But the boardwalk trails were great! Shaded and breezy so that even on a super hot day it wasn't that hot. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Wrightfamilywpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing