We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashion Diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Diner Fort Myers

Mel's Diner Fort Myers
Ranked #18 of 812 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old Fashion Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good meals for $10.99. We were a party of 6 with difference choices. Everyone's meal was spot on. Service was great. Will not wait so long to go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sissy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    223
    67
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Myers
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's loud. It's average. It's fast. It's a chain. There's the math.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Now you get to choose if that's for you. Breakfast, lunch or dinner - they offer it all. Stacked menu of comfort food classics. Daily meal specials. Go at peak dining times - - expect to wait in line. The fun part is you'll get to be Lucy, Ricky, Laverne or Shirley while you wait, in lieu of numbers you get a retro name. Kitchy.

Service is typically quite friendly and often rushed. Food is fine - - nothing spectacular to write about. It's served hot. Healthy portion sizes.

Vintage collectibles decor abound; it's nostalgic treat for the eyes. I think I saw my old elementary school lunch box sitting on a shelf next to my grandmother's old cake pan.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Well_Fit_SMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mels is the only Diner in Cape Coral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's a great place for a Diner. Good breakfasts, the lunches are good too and the dinners are very good for Diner food. This Diner was very much needed in the area and we would highly recommend it. The prices are reasonable and the service is quick. The food is really good compared to some other local places.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheCapeBasics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good way to start Christmas shopping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I haven't been to Mel's for awhile. It was tasty and hot. I had the Cadilac Hot dog (I was corrected when I called it a chili dog). My wife had the bacon/grilled cheese sandwich. We weren't disappointed. Good service to boot. Won't wait so long to go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BW639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D. C.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gone, gone, gone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hey folks, this restaurant is dearly departed. There are other Mel's Diners scattered around Florida but this one's ashes have been scattered to the wind. Much to our shock as we were anticipating an excellent meal based on reviews and ranking #17. So save a trip and go elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nocostcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Diner Fort Myers also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Diner Fort Myers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing