We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern scrumptious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmers Market Restaurant

Farmers Market Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 843 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Southern food served fresh daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The oldest restaurant in Lee County, since 1952 Serving breakfast Monday-Friday 6am-10:30am, Saturday 6am-11am, Sunday 7am-11am Lunch starts Mon-Fri at 11AM Lunch starts Saturday and Sunday at 11:30AM
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Southern scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There is little to say except go to the Farmer's Market if you have never been. If you've been you are going back. Great souther cooking, the same staff for years makes this place a comfortable and familiar dining experience. There is nothing on the menu you won't find made the right way.
My favorites: the vegetable plate with black eyed peas, collards or turnip greens, okra and tomatoes and mashed with gravy....
Breakfasts are out of this world with meats you won't find in awful waffle....
Enjoy!!!1

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    61
    17
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Been many times and this was one of the best. We had country fried steak, fried green tomatoes and macaroni and cheese. Everything was good and the service was excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
295 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Delicious country cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Was in fort myers for a day and we decided to stop here for lunch!! Wow the food was amazing. What great country cooking. The collard greens and field peas were very tasty. My father's sandwich was also delicious. We enjoyed every bite. Recommend this restaurant to all looking for a place to eat in fort myers!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still a great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

It has been many years since I've been to The Farmers Market. We moved away in 2001 and moved back to the area this year. We wanted to go somewhere different for lunch and I remembered The Farmers Market. My wife has never been here and she was getting worried seeing the we were going into a not so great area of town. After eating, she didn't care about the area and said that we would be coming back. The people are friendly and the service is good. The food is great. My wife had the chicken livers with fried green tomatoes, collard greens and fried okra. Yes, the meals come with 3 vegetables. I had the fried white fish with real mashed potatoes, collard greens and cabbage. The meals also comes with homemade rolls and corn muffins. We had sweet tea to drink. Everything was delicious and cooked to perfection. It's been 12 years since I've been here and it hasn't changed. If you like down home country cooking, this is the place to come. Don't let the surrounding area keep you away from some of the best country cooking in SW Florida.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribLover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Country Food at a Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you like down home country cooking and are not too picky about atmosphere, then this is a good place. The Farmer's Market Restaurant offers up a daily menu with the likes of southern fried chicken, meat loaf, southern fried catfish, and even prime rib with a substantial compliment of vegetable sides to choose from. Three sides are offered with the meal and if you want a vegetable platter you can choose 5 sides ranging from their lengthy list of offerings that include collard greens, baked sweet potato, fried green tomatoes, okra and tomatoes, mashed potatoes, french fries and more. Their online menu also listed fried mullet, but on this Sunday evening visit, it was disappointed to learn it wasn't available.

I was tempted by the southern fried chicken, which certainly looked good, but opted for a mild white fish that was offered fried or seasoned broiled. Trying to limit my fried food intake, I chose the broiled fish and sides of collard greens, field peas w/ snaps, sweet potato, and corn bread. My mom, who ate with me this evening had the vegetable platter. These full meals were only $11.95 and 10.45 respectively and offered plenty of food. I would have opted for the fried mullet had it been available. The mild white fish was perfectly cooked however, and was a very generous portion, so I'm not complaining too much on that score. The field peas with snaps came out as black-eyed peas though so that was a disappointing.

This restaurant is a little off the beaten path, on the other side of the tracks, you might say, and is not going score very high on anyone's ambiance rating. Its basically a concrete block building next to the farmer's market warehouses, so there is not much of a view either. A pretty good meal for the money though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Mercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers Market Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farmers Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing