We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Drink Hangout”
Review of City Tavern

City Tavern
Ranked #154 of 1,024 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: City Tavern has been a downtown Ft. Myers happy hour and nightlife hot spot since 1998. City Tavern offers a unique bar food menu inspired by Chef Brian Duffy from the hit Spike TV show, Bar Rescue. The kitchen is open daily, 11am-10pm and the bar remains open until 2am with live music every Thursday, Friday, & Saturday nights. Drink specials all week.
Reviewed March 5, 2019

The people are friendly and it gets packed when Happy Hour arrives but until then its pretty empty. Met some friends for lunch but the food is only so-so and the menu limited. Not a place to eat but fun for cocktails. Sitting outside has no view and a lot of noise from construction across the street. No atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CobblerRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2019

Another beautiful day in Bonita Springs and we decided to go to downtown Fort Myers to admire the downtown area and do some shopping. We did not realize that the Edison Light Parade was that weekend so parking was at a premium, still available but you had to look. Also, construction of a new hotel and the renovations to the convention center has taken away even more parking. I’m sure it will be outstanding once everything is completed. After a nice walk around downtown we stopped at the City Tavern as was our custom. We were greeted by Heather, our server/bartender and just all-around good spirit. Some changes to the menu make it a little of a challenge for my wife’s dietary needs, but no fear, Heather was here. She went over the menu and built a salad that my wife could eat and enjoy. Only a short block off the main drag but the excellent service, good food and cold beer make the walk well worthwhile. Take the time to enjoy the City Tavern when in Fort Myers, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edward_G32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Thank you so much for the kind words! We truly appreciate you visiting City Tavern and for taking the time to post a very nice review. The Luminary Hotel will be a welcomed addition to downtown. We are very excited for the project to be completed. We are in the process of a menu make-over and our full new menu will roll out over the next 2 weeks. We are striving to provide more options for different dietary needs with this new menu. Please come back and see us on your next visit to the beautiful downtown Fort Myers River District. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

Was downtown and decided to have a drink and something to eat. Had not been to City Tavern in a long time.
So we saw how busy they were and had live music so went in.
The food was very good and service very friendly and helpful.
We had a good time and will go back again.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waynebP2344MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Thank you for your nice review and for stopping into City Tavern! We hope you come back and see us again, soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Stop in at City Tavern with a wedding party and had the best service! Meghan was a awesome bartender with the best personality! Will definitely be back

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Autumn0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Thanks for the fantastic review and for visiting City Tavern! Meghan rocks! Hope to see you soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

We have been to City Taveren many times and each time we come a way with a pleasant experience. Their servers are hard working and do a nice job and the food is very consistent

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gchayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Thank you so much for the kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a nice review and for visiting City Tavern. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Tavern also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to City Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing