We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't know why we waited so long!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sasse's

Sasse's
Ranked #60 of 823 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Fort Myers, Sasse’s is a casual cozy restaurant that features authentic Northern-Italian and European food, prepared to perfection in our wood burning oven.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't know why we waited so long!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We moved to Fort Myers one year ago and have had many recommendations to try Sasse's. I think the neighborhood this fantastic restaurant is located in kept us away, but we will now definitely be back! We went in during off season on a Wednesday night and were one of only two tables in use. The waitress was attentive, helpful and interested in chatting with us. We started with a glass of house wine recommended by said waitress. We then split a salad having the benefit of seeing our neighboring table's salad order delivered. More than enough for 2 people as expected for the price of around $6-$8 depending on which salad you order.
My husband ordered the veal entrée and I the rigatoni. Both were excellent and I thought very fairly priced. I had more than half of my entrée leftover for lunch the next day.
The chef himself came over to our table on two occasions, once with delivery of our entrees and once after completion to offer us a complimentary taste of his panna cotta! I would not expect this had the restaurant been more full, but it was a nice touch. It was very obvious he appreciates his customers as on our way out we saw him chatting with the other table as well.
While we were fortunate to be there on a less than busy evening everyone who speaks highly of Sasse's suggests reservations on weekends and during season.
The ONLY "bad" thing to say about Sasse's is its location. It's in a random strip mall in a not so great neighborhood but you forget about that as soon as you enter! We will be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tday8412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    34
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Blown away!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This chef has it spot on. As a frequent traveler to northern Italy, I didn't think I would ever find this level of food in the states.
Don't let the neiborhood fool you it is a clean and inviting restaurant. The quality and composition of the food is on par with a cretain tire company's star restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

A bit off the beaten path but well worth the trip. This is a small restaurant owned and operated by the chef (Josef Zimmerman), who really cares about what he serves and how it's presented. Every dish, from the mussels ( fresh and so very tasty both in red or white sauce), the excellent salads- I especially liked the insalata de Gorgonzola prepared with the freshest herbs and slices ( thick sticks really) of excellent cheese, red tomatoes, butter greens and assorted coral honeysuckle buds, to,the entrees, were terrific. The salmon made with a light sauce of fried capers, artichoke, tomatoes, olives placed on top of a creamy risotto was devine, as was the shrimp spaghetti - bountiful delicious shrimp in a very tasty red sauce. Wines were affordable with a good selection.
All this plus Chef Josef comes to table to chat and see if all well. a delightful man who cooks wonderfully .
Can't wait to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AUDEIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious. Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

You will only get here if you mean to go here. Driving down the street you think you've made a wrong turn somewhere --- can great cuisine be tucked into a mainly empty strip center in a somewhat questionable area?

Absolutely!

I have been here on a few occasions and today over a lunch with folks from the office I enjoyed a divine tomato soup and stuffed meatballs with pasta. Both were fantastic.

We were treated to a free brownie as I have been everytime I've been here.

Make a point if trying this place you will enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I found this place by accident, we did a plumbing job there. Now typically I will not eat at restaurants I worked at because I see things patrons aren't suppose to see but this place was spotless and the food just looked amazing. The next night I brought some friends and it was everything I imagined it to be.

The food was great, the service was great and the owner took the time to greet every guest, this restaurant is going on the top of my list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scott7081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sasse's also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sasse's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing