We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”
Review of Clam Bake

Clam Bake
Ranked #34 of 856 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Decided to try for lunch, was in the mood for chowder. As they call it-Chowdah! Honestly, Progresso out of a can is better. The miniscule cup I received was a little more than lukewarm, the flavor had an odd flavor (not spoiled) but I could not figure it out. Have had better and many other venues. Also, I had a broiled haddock sandwich-nothing to write home about. The haddock most likely was frozen, had a consistency like IQF fish that you would buy at BJ's. When you first walk in, it does not remind you of a seafood restaurant, but more of a corporate chain look.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    113
    36
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Lobster bisque- delicious.
Broiled scallops- OK
Angry Lobster- very good.
Great and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“mediocre and less”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was hopeful to find clam and lobster rolls like I have had on the Cape. This didn't come close. I think some must be desperate. Lobster was not chunks but shreds and not really a luscious flavor. Bun was correct. Fries were mushy and flavorless. Fried clams were fresh but the batter had no flavor at all. With the open kitchen, I was glad that at least the oil is changed. No rancid oil smell to the place. Steamers were way too sandy. $60 for a minor lunch for two. Not outrageous but not worth it either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilMsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real New England Experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wow! We visited The Clam Bake on our Memorial Day holiday and it was a fantastic experience. They have a new location in the same shopping center & it was totally renovated before they reopened. It's a warm, friendly place to come for some great seafood and your favorite cocktail. I love how the kitchen is open to the restaurant - never have I seen one cleaner. The service was super friendly..and the food! Seafood so fresh, I felt like I was eating at the docks when the fishing boats come in. They cook their clambakes with seaweed in the pot - just like New England. We had steamers dipped in broth and butter - yum! The chowder is homemade & fantastic. Make a special trip to try this place. It's worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

No one is a stranger in this place. The new building is HUGE, which is so different and well appointed. Great Bar area with new happy hour specials. Food is amazing. I have been there several times and everything is always fresh, tasty and consistent!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmoine1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Bake also viewed

 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clam Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing